Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Linux 2.6.34-rc1 Kernel Is Out w/ New Features

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    13,465

    Default Linux 2.6.34-rc1 Kernel Is Out w/ New Features

    Phoronix: Linux 2.6.34-rc1 Kernel Is Out w/ New Features

    Following a two week merge window following the release of the Linux 2.6.33 kernel, Linus Torvalds has announced the first release candidate for the next kernel, to be known as the Linux 2.6.34 kernel.Of a lot of interest to us (and likely you too) are all of the GPU DRM updates in the Linux 2.6.34 kernel that includes GPU hybrid switching, initial ATI Radeon HD 5000 series KMS support (a.k.a. "Evergreen"), controversial Nouveau changes, ATI Radeon KMS power management support, Intel Sandy Bridge support, and much more.Outside of the graphics fun in this kernel to be officially released next quarter is a new filesystem (Logfs), a hardware driver for Apple's Magic Mouse, virtualization improvements, and other updates particularly to the Linux drivers and architectures.The Linux 2.6.34-rc1 kernel release announcement can be read at LKML.org...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=ODA0OQ

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    515

    Default

    How well is the ATI powermanagement in this kernel?
    Any major bugs in the powermanagement still needs to be fixed?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    60

    Default

    Maybe after the 2.6.34 is done you could include some Logfs tests.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Au
    Posts
    174

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tball View Post
    How well is the ATI powermanagement in this kernel?
    Any major bugs in the powermanagement still needs to be fixed?
    I'm stoked - suspend and hibernate are finally both working for me on an rv635!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    42

    Default PowerSavings

    Im still geting
    Code:
    (WW) RADEON(0): Option "ForceLowPowerMode" is not used
    (WW) RADEON(0): Option "DynamicPM" is not used
    with this xorg.conf
    Code:
    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Configured Video Device"
    Option "UseFBDev" "true"
    Option "ForceLowPowerMode" "true"
    Option "DynamicPM" "true"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Configured Monitor"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Default Screen"
    Monitor "Configured Monitor"
    Device "Configured Video Device"
    EndSection
    on lucid with 2.6.34 rc1. Should I add xorg edgers ppa to? or should I somehow change my xorg.conf?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    42

    Default

    ok I have found
    Code:
    [    8.916802] [drm] Clocks initialized !
    [    8.916806] [drm] 4 Power State(s)
    [    8.916808] [drm] State 0 Default (default)
    [    8.916810] [drm] 	1 Clock Mode(s)
    [    8.916812] [drm] 		0 engine: 
    [    8.916814] [drm] State 1 Performance 
    [    8.916816] [drm] 	1 Clock Mode(s)
    [    8.916818] [drm] 		0 engine: 500000
    [    8.916820] [drm] State 2 Battery 
    [    8.916821] [drm] 	1 Clock Mode(s)
    [    8.916823] [drm] 		0 engine: 200000
    [    8.916825] [drm] State 3 Default 
    [    8.916827] [drm] 	1 Clock Mode(s)
    [    8.916829] [drm] 		0 engine: 500000
    [    8.916836] [drm] radeon: power management initialized
    in dmesg but Im not sure whether this is actually doing something

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    42

    Default

    todays last post :-)
    I put radeon.dynpm=1 in /etc/modprobe.d/radeon.conf
    but cat /sys/kernel/debug/dri/0/radeon_pm_info prints
    Code:
    state: PM_STATE_DISABLED
    default engine clock: 500000 kHz
    current engine clock: 494040 kHz
    default memory clock: 333000 kHz
    PCIE lanes: 0
    so i guess pm is not working for me...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    74

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by icek View Post
    ok I have found
    Code:
    [    8.916802] [drm] Clocks initialized !
    [    8.916806] [drm] 4 Power State(s)
    [    8.916808] [drm] State 0 Default (default)
    [    8.916810] [drm] 	1 Clock Mode(s)
    [    8.916812] [drm] 		0 engine: 
    [    8.916814] [drm] State 1 Performance 
    [    8.916816] [drm] 	1 Clock Mode(s)
    [    8.916818] [drm] 		0 engine: 500000
    [    8.916820] [drm] State 2 Battery 
    [    8.916821] [drm] 	1 Clock Mode(s)
    [    8.916823] [drm] 		0 engine: 200000
    [    8.916825] [drm] State 3 Default 
    [    8.916827] [drm] 	1 Clock Mode(s)
    [    8.916829] [drm] 		0 engine: 500000
    [    8.916836] [drm] radeon: power management initialized
    in dmesg but Im not sure whether this is actually doing something
    I'll explain ya.

    The options you wrote about in the previous post are picked up by the Xorg DDX driver, making it manage some aspects of the GPU power management, in userspace.

    The New(r) Improved(tm) All-Round Better(?) way is DRM power management. This permits a centralized management of the GPU and video memory current, voltages, and what else lies inbetween, whereas the temporary userspace solution would have had to synchronize its Power Management decisions with the other DRM/GPU clients, if it ever did it at all. This Better(stop it!) solution has the advantage to provide Power Management during the whole Linux(tm, not a joke)-Experience(this is), and permits a closer control of the video GPU/memory status.

    So, it is way better.

    What you need? Enable KMS, as that's a completely new DRM module, in which the developers are implementing all the good things you're reading here on Phoronix.

    Next? Edit your Linux kernel command line to include this options:

    radeon.modeset=1 radeon.dynpm=1

    Then, pray whathever ancient god of luck and good and fortune you could know of. Then, and only then, boot into your operating system.

    And say thank you to the devs.
    They actually are those gods I was talking about.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Merida
    Posts
    1,098

    Default

    With my HD4850, I can see the 4 powerstates being listed. Each one has (or should) 3 modes. This I learned before from messing around with Radeon Bios Editor. In the kernel log, state 0 and 3 each have three modes, and modes 1 and 2 show only two. Looking at the listed frequencies, it seems that the actual "3D" frequencies are missing. I see the low "2D" clocks in there, but not the high power ones. Is this a current limitation, or a problem with my particular setup?
    Also, this rc causes a weird kernel panic on my laptop (Presario V2000) and I'm unable to go past the grub2 menu.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Merida
    Posts
    1,098

    Default

    As far as PM, it does seem to work. The core is downclocking fine as far as I can tell, which is making things slower than usual; KMS makes 2D slow as is, so the downclocking is making things worse .

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •