Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: NetworkManager 0.8 Is Ready For Release

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,643

    Default NetworkManager 0.8 Is Ready For Release

    Phoronix: NetworkManager 0.8 Is Ready For Release

    NetworkManager, the free software project that's backed by Red Hat and used by many distributions for easily managing network connections from the Linux desktop, is ready for its version 0.8 milestone. NetworkManager 0.7 is getting old and while NetworkManager 0.7.1 brought some improvements last year, the 0.8 release is rather exciting.NetworkManager 0.8 delivers on much more solid bluetooth support, integration with ModemManager for providing better mobile broadband / cellular connection support, removal of HAL support (similar to X.Org dropping HAL due to its deprecation), proper IPv6 support, and many other improvements.The official NetworkManager 0.8 release announcement has yet to come, but the 0.8.0 release is tagged in Git and as such the snapshot of it is available from the FreeDesktop.org Git repository...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=ODAwMw

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    250

    Default

    will it have WPA support?
    or will you still need wpa_supplicant and you to mess around with it?
    (maybe i was just too dumb to get it working on gentoo, but i think i read it simply wasnt supported)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    196

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jakubo View Post
    will it have WPA support?
    or will you still need wpa_supplicant and you to mess around with it?
    (maybe i was just too dumb to get it working on gentoo, but i think i read it simply wasnt supported)
    wpa_supplicant on Gentoo doesn't even need configuration when used with NetworkManager. I've been using NM on Gentoo for quite some time now.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    250

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wswartzendruber View Post
    wpa_supplicant on Gentoo doesn't even need configuration when used with NetworkManager. I've been using NM on Gentoo for quite some time now.
    so it seems the last case has appeared to be true. (too dumb)
    thx, ill try next time i get gentoo.
    just is it a diference whether you use it with gnome or kde? im not sure its the same program...

  5. #5

    Default

    I wish they'd build in 56k dialup support into network manager. Most of the current linux solutions for this suck and it's time that changed.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Connecticut,USA
    Posts
    956

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by halfmanhalfamazing View Post
    I wish they'd build in 56k dialup support into network manager. Most of the current linux solutions for this suck and it's time that changed.
    Who still needs 56k?

    Seems very few people still use that nowadays, with wifi and broadband connections quite abundant.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    111

    Arrow

    Is there any word on the promised bonding/bridging support?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    160

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by halfmanhalfamazing View Post
    I wish they'd build in 56k dialup support into network manager. Most of the current linux solutions for this suck and it's time that changed.
    motivating developers for that is gonna be a hell of a ride!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    92

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jakubo View Post
    will it have WPA support?
    or will you still need wpa_supplicant and you to mess around with it?
    (maybe i was just too dumb to get it working on gentoo, but i think i read it simply wasnt supported)
    It has supported wpa for a loooooooooooong time already ....

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    West Jordan, Utah, USA
    Posts
    53

    Default Magnatude of the suckage

    And the burning question:

    Will this version suck less? I have to admit I'm happy with wicd, and would be unlikely to switch my current machine, but I'd like to be able to leave NetworkManager on there when it comes preinstalled.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •