Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: GPU Switching Goes For The Gold: Mainline Inclusion

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,643

    Default GPU Switching Goes For The Gold: Mainline Inclusion

    Phoronix: GPU Switching Goes For The Gold: Mainline Inclusion

    At the start of the month we talked about GPU switching coming to Linux in a crude form that allowed notebooks with dual GPUs (one being a low-power, low-performance integrated chip and the other being the more performance-oriented GPU that's power hungry) to be switched from without the need for a reboot in Linux. This initial work was just a collection of hacks by David Airlie and it required VT switching after killing the X Server, etc...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=ODAxOA

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Under the bridge
    Posts
    2,130

    Default

    Nice!

    (Stupid 10 character limit + stupid 60'' limit. Bah!)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    141

    Default

    wow....

    these redhat employees are f***ing crazy.
    they've all been hacking away like labrats lately.

    i think redhat is up to something.....

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Zürich, Switzerland
    Posts
    59

    Default

    Updated HowTo: Fedora 12 + kernel 2.6.33 + vga_switcheroo patch v13

    See blog for details:
    http://asusm51ta-with-linux.blogspot.com/

    To summarise: v13 patch rocks!: Now you can switch between cards as many times as you like!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rmartinez View Post
    Updated HowTo: Fedora 12 + kernel 2.6.33 + vga_switcheroo patch v13

    See blog for details:
    http://asusm51ta-with-linux.blogspot.com/

    To summarise: v13 patch rocks!: Now you can switch between cards as many times as you like!
    Can I use this How-to with Nvidia/Nvidia combination? Or it's only ati feature?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Can I use Switcheroo with Nvidia/Nvidia?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    983

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kempa View Post
    Can I use Switcheroo with Nvidia/Nvidia?
    Sounds like it needs testing, at least:

    Update 2: v13 is now up, it blindly implements nvidia DSM changing, but I've no idea if it works. Hopefully someone can test it and give me some feedback. Its nearly all guesswork from work mjg59 did.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Zürich, Switzerland
    Posts
    59

    Default

    I have recently made a new update of the blog I made with the HowTo compile kernel + switcheroo. I learned a lot of Shell scripting and made better scripts to switch between graphic cards as fast as a click (and a password tiping...). Well, I hope you can profit from them:
    http://asusm51ta-with-linux.blogspot.com/

    @kempa: Please, do test this patch with your configuration and post your experience. Thanks!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Zürich, Switzerland
    Posts
    59

    Default

    Hi everyone, I made a newer script with gui (gxmessage) that allows to switch between graphic cards "switch_between_cards.sh". I made it so that it works with no matter what configuration cards you have. If you have any doubts please write to me. The only thing I would like to mention is that although the vga_switcheroo v13 works in perfect functionality for my ASUS M51Ta, the only thing is that when you turn off the computer with one of the cards turned off; then, when you turn on the computer again the fan runs at full speed. So, to avoid this I also made a script "switch_before_shutdown.sh". These scripts are on my new post:
    http://asusm51ta-with-linux.blogspot...ch-script.html
    Please tell me if you find any errors!
    Thanks,
    rm

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •