Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: Classic Command & Conquer titles now freeware

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,338

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StringCheesian View Post
    It runs perfectly for me. You should try a more recent version of wine.

    Gentoo ~amd64
    nvidia driver 195.36.03
    xorg-server 1.6.5 (because 1.6 is stable and 1.7 froze twice)
    wine 1.1.38 (from git, last updated Feb 7)
    Nope, still grinds to halt whenever mouse is moved in-game. Now on wine 1.1.38, previously on 1.1.11. This is with the opengl registry tweak done.

    Must be another of those Nvidia-Wine things.

    CLFS x64
    xf86-video-ati 6.12.4 git
    Xorg 1.7.4

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,801

    Default

    You're using Wine with the open source radeon driver? You must be insane

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,338

    Default

    Yeah

    But hey, it worked perfectly for the two games I have so far played on it - Red Alert and Stars!

  4. #14
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,587

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StringCheesian View Post
    This is awesome.



    It runs perfectly for me. You should try a more recent version of wine.

    Gentoo ~amd64
    nvidia driver 195.36.03
    xorg-server 1.6.5 (because 1.6 is stable and 1.7 froze twice)
    wine 1.1.38 (from git, last updated Feb 7)
    Works fine here as well, killed a few hours on it last night.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,587

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by curaga View Post
    Nope, still grinds to halt whenever mouse is moved in-game. Now on wine 1.1.38, previously on 1.1.11. This is with the opengl registry tweak done.

    Must be another of those Nvidia-Wine things.

    CLFS x64
    xf86-video-ati 6.12.4 git
    Xorg 1.7.4

    Ahhhh, say no more, your using an ATI card, nuff said.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1,002

    Default

    Game works fine here with ati driver. Played it for a couple of minutes, then deleted it. I can see why they give away the game for free

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    983

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by deanjo View Post
    Just noticed this morning that the classic Command a& Conquer games have been made freeware from EA.

    http://www.commandandconquer.com/classic

    Should be able to get these going with wine or with FreeCNC.
    That's nice, but it's a little disappointing that it's just the game, and no source code. I really wish more game devs would release the source of old titles under a free licence, like what Eidos did with Warzone 2100.

    (Supposedly that happened as the result of a fan petition, but I guess it's unlikely to expect the same result with Red Alert, EA being EA...)

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    104

    Default

    Sometimes with games that old, source code has been lost.
    Also, many games used 3rd party libraries or tech that may not be releasable (look at ID Software and the issues with the DOOM sound library)

    I know of at least one case (cant really say) where in order to release the source code they would need to examine every line of code to remove ALL 3rd party encumbrances. And even then one would need a Bink license, a Miles license and a GameSpy license (and possibly others) in order to actually USE the code.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    3,046

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonwil View Post
    I know of at least one case (cant really say) where in order to release the source code they would need to examine every line of code to remove ALL 3rd party encumbrances. And even then one would need a Bink license, a Miles license and a GameSpy license (and possibly others) in order to actually USE the code.
    Only if you don't update the codebase to use something more acceptable. The biggest impediments to going that direction is that you'd need permission to update the assets on the title. Doable, but it's a slightly harder sell to do that than getting the source code.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •