Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: WINE vs. Windows benchmarks

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    10

    Default WINE vs. Windows benchmarks

    Hi,

    I'd like to see some benchmarks of recent WINE against Windows. Windows XP would probably be the most reasonable given that it's WINE's default target.

    I'm considering buying a GeForce 9600 GT to play GTA4 on, but I don't want a Windows machine, so if WINE causes a 50% hit I will just buy a PS3.

    Besides, it would be interesting to see how WINE compares to Windows these days.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,633

    Default

    Buy a PS3, you need a really fast pc and good gfx card to play that game even with Win.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Toronto/North Bay Canada
    Posts
    877

    Default

    gta4 is a garbage port to pc already. Dont waste your time.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    51

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by L33F3R View Post
    gta4 is a garbage port to pc already. Dont waste your time.
    Im going to go out on a limb and just assume your computer is junk.

    GTA4 is a fantastic port. Just because they didnt go the lazy route of making it look like shit to play on more hardware like most other crappy ports dont make it bad. If anything i am sick of these ports that come across looking no better than the 360 or ps3 versions.

    For once a game was ported and was done so in a way to actually leverage the power a PC can put out. Just look at side by side screenshots its like a whole new game on PC when compared to the consoles.

    It will however play just fine on a 9600GT in windows, GTA4 is far more reliant on the CPU anyway.

    It really does get old to have the ignorant half ass gamers complain when a game comes out and cant be maxxed out with their 3 year old machines. Just because your turd of a machine cant play it dont make the game bad or a bad port...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Toronto/North Bay Canada
    Posts
    877

    Default

    nah, i try to keep my rig 50% more powerful then anything i could use it for at the time . I mean, it was a shit 360-windows port all and all.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    51

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by L33F3R View Post
    nah, i try to keep my rig 50% more powerful then anything i could use it for at the time . I mean, it was a shit 360-windows port all and all.
    As soon as you explain what makes it a bad port ill begin to take you seriously. Otherwise from what i am reading you're just another person bitching that you cant max it out on a $400 wal-mart rig.

    A cheap dual core and mid range video card will make GTA 4 look far better than the 360.

    The work they put into it to make it scale so incredibly well on the PC alone makes it a better than average port. Like i said look at the screenshots side by side and tell me again how shitty of a port it is...

    It had its bugs at release but it is far from a shitty port. This is whats wrong with so much of the PC gaming market. Rockstar went way the hell out of their way to make a quality port for the PC that actually leverages the power of a PC and the crybabies with cheap rigs call it a bad port because they cant max it.

    For the uneducated crybabies a good port to the PC SHOULD look far better than its console counterpart. This also means it wont run at max settings on your $400 brown box rig. Ports to the PC that play well yet look no better than the console versions are the bad ports. If you want it to look and play with the quality of the console buy a damn console, i game on the PC for higher quality graphics and gameplay.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Thanks guys

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    769

    Default

    GTA IV doesn't even work on wine.

    http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManage...ation&iId=8757

    so if you don't mind having to aim with a gamepad, go for the console.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Saskatchewan, Canada
    Posts
    462

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rohcQaH View Post
    GTA IV doesn't even work on wine.
    According to a lot of posts I've read on gaming forums, GTA4 doesn't even work on Windows .

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,633

    Default

    Well you need a Windows Live account to save (a local one would be enough) and for online games you need a second account. That's really annoying... With a high performance system with 1024 mb vram the gfx can look better than on consoles - it is even one of those games which can use more than 2 cores. It is certainly NOT meant to be played with a cheap gfx card and a lowend cpu

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •