Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1920x1200 on X1300 - driver problem?

Hello ^_^

I am a big fan of ATi graphics cards, so I have a lot of them in many computers. I have stumbled upon a weird, uhm, feature of the Catalyst Control Center. I have a Samsung SyncMaster 245B monitor; its native resolution is 1920x1200, but Catalyst says it's only 1600x1200, so if I enable the native 1920x1200 - it only shows the upper-left part of the screen. And, surprisingly enough, there is no button to disable EDID - as it was on Windows! I am running Debian Lenny amd64 with an X1300, so it's Catalyst 9.3 we're talking about. I remember I've had exactly the same problem on Windows also, and there was the "Disable EDID" button, but it just did not work! When I checked it, it just self-unchecked when I pressed Apply or restarted Catalyst (that was a long time ago, I don't remember exactly). I also don't remember whether I was able to do something (like another version of the driver) or even what card and what version of Catalyst did I use, but I did research this feature thoroughly enough and will be happy to provide any information needed.

The system acknowledges the 1920x1200 mode, it's even possible to set it, but the problem is that it only shows a part of the screen if this mode is set. This might be the problem of the monitor, not the graphics card, but there must be a way to disable looking at EDID anyway, The open-source driver works well. It is also possible to start X with the 1920x1200 resolution and it is displayed properly, but when I go to another console (Ctrl-Alt-F1) and then go back to X, if turns out like this. (On the open-source drivers, it works fine.) So the problem only occures if I try to set the 1920x1200 mode under X (I even tried xrandr --size 1920x1200 - it leads to the same result).