Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Radeon driver fails with ThinkPad T60 dock/DVI

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Tampere, Finland
    Posts
    12

    Default Radeon driver fails with ThinkPad T60 dock/DVI

    Hi,

    Any idea why DVI output is not found by radeon driver (xf86-video-ati-6.12.4.tar.bz2 installed to Ubuntu Jaunty)? Radeonhd driver finds DVI as well as other video outputs (laptop panel and VGA).

    I'm not able to copy & paste the /var/log/Xorg.0.log here due to size limitation but here is the the result of grepping string DVI.

    Code:
    (II) RADEON(0): Output DVI-0 has no monitor section
    (II) RADEON(0): I2C bus "DVI-0" initialized.
      XRANDR name: DVI-0
      Connector: DVI-I
    (II) RADEON(0): I2C device "DVI-0:E-EDID segment register" registered at address 0x60.
    (II) RADEON(0): I2C device "DVI-0:ddc2" registered at address 0xA0.
    (II) RADEON(0): Output: DVI-0, Detected Monitor Type: 0
    (II) RADEON(0): Output: DVI-0, Detected Monitor Type: 0
    (II) RADEON(0): Output DVI-0 disconnected
    There is nothing special in /etc/X11/xorg.conf. The virtual option is there because otherwise setting up 1680x1050 24 bit color desktop with DVI connected Dell monitor fails (with radeonhd).

    Code:
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier	"Configured Video Device"
    	Driver "radeon"
    	#Driver "radeonhd"
    	#Option "DRI"
    	#Option "AccelMethod"  "EXA"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    	Identifier	"Configured Monitor"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier	"Default Screen"
    	Monitor		"Configured Monitor"
    	Device		"Configured Video Device"
    	SubSection "Display"
              Depth 24
              Virtual 1980 1080
           EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "DRI"
            Mode         0666
    EndSection

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,360

    Default

    please pastebin your full xorg logs from radeon and radeonhd.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,434

    Default

    If you're not familiar with pastebin, go to www.pastebin.com, .ca, .de, whatever, and paste your log into the web form. When you submit, the page will return a URL; post that URL here.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Tampere, Finland
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Thanks agd5f and bridgman! My log files are now in pastebin.

    Radeonhd http://pastebin.com/m543521d7

    Radeon http://pastebin.com/d33e75103

    In both cases I rebooted the PC. With radeonhd the laptop display goes by default to DVI but as low resolution non-native mode. Then I add in my docked script with xrandr 1680x1050 mode and set the output to only DVI

    xrandr --newmode 1680x1050 146.25 1680 1784 1960 2240 1050 1053 1059 1089 -hsync +vsync
    xrandr --output PANEL --off
    xrandr --output VGA_1 --off
    xrandr --addmode DVI-D_1 1680x1050
    xrandr --output DVI-D_1 --mode 1680x1050
    With radeon I tried the same but replaced DVI-D_1 with DVI-0 as that seems the right keyword. Earlier versions of radeonhd didn't require that modeline. Later versions do. The EDID communication with DVI probably fails with radeonhd?

    Radeon stays on laptop panel only and xrandr keeps complaining about disconnected DVI-0. Laptop panel seems to work OK. I didn't try VGA.

    Cheers,
    Seppo

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,360

    Default

    Nether driver is able to get an EDID from your monitor. RHD is able to detect something since it implements tmds load detection. However, you can force the monitor on with radeon however:
    xrandr --newmode 1680x1050 146.25 1680 1784 1960 2240 1050 1053 1059 1089 -hsync +vsync
    xrandr --addmode DVI-0 1680x1050
    xrandr --output DVI-0 --mode 1680x1050

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    27

    Default

    What's the output of xrandr anyway? I have a T60 with a docking station and 2 external deisplays (DVI and VGA) too. xrandr should say sthg like this:
    Code:
    moritz@MoLap:~$ xrandr
    Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1920 x 1200, maximum 1920 x 1920
    VGA-0 connected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
       1280x1024      60.0 +   75.0     60.0
       1152x864       75.0
       1024x768       75.0     60.0
       832x624        74.6
       800x600        75.0     60.3
       640x480        75.0     59.9
       720x400        70.1
    LVDS connected 1400x1050+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 286mm x 214mm
       1400x1050      60.0*+   50.0
       1280x1024      59.9     60.0
       1280x960       59.9
       1280x854       59.9
       1280x800       59.8
       1280x720       59.9
       1152x768       59.8
       1024x768       60.0     59.9
       800x600        60.3     59.9
       640x480        59.9     59.4
    DVI-0 connected 1920x1200+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 518mm x 324mm
       1920x1200      60.0*+
       1600x1200      60.0
       1680x1050      59.9
       1280x1024      60.0
       1440x900       59.9
       1280x960       60.0
       1280x800       59.9
       1024x768       60.0
       800x600        60.3     56.2
       640x480        59.9
    My xorg.conf:
    Code:
    Section "InputDevice"                                                                      
            Identifier      "Generic Keyboard"                                                 
            Driver          "kbd"                                                              
            Option          "XkbRules"      "xorg"                                             
            Option          "XkbModel"      "pc104"                                            
            Option          "XkbLayout"     "de"                                               
            #Option         "XkbVariant"    "nodeadkeys"                                       
    EndSection                                                                                 
    
    Section "InputDevice"
            Identifier              "Configured Mouse"
            Driver                  "mouse"           
            Option  "Device"        "/dev/input/mice" 
    EndSection                                        
    
    Section "DRI"
            Mode         0666
    EndSection               
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
            Identifier      "Default Layout"
            Screen          "Default Screen"
            #InputDevice    "Generic Keyboard"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
            SubSection  "extmod"
              Option  "omit xfree86-dga"
            EndSubSection
            Load  "dbe"
            Load  "GLcore"
            Load  "record"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
            Identifier      "Intergrated LCD"
            Option          "DPMS" "true"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
            Identifier      "External DVI"
            Option          "DPMS" "true"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
            Identifier      "External VGA"
            Option          "DPMS" "true"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
            Driver          "radeon"
            Identifier      "X1400"
            BusID           "PCI:1:0:0"
            Option          "DynamicClocks" "on"
            Option          "AccelMethod"   "EXA"
            Option          "IgnoreLidStatus" "off"
            Option          "Monitor-DVI-0" "External DVI"
            Option          "Monitor-LVDS"  "Integrated LCD"
            Option          "Monitor-VGA-0" "External VGA"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
            Identifier      "Default Screen"
            Device          "X1400"
            DefaultDepth    24
            SubSection "Display"
                    Modes   "1920x1200" "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "1280x960" "800x600"
                    Depth   24
            EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    
    Section "Extensions"
            Option          "Composite" "Enable"
    EndSection

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Tampere, Finland
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by moritz View Post
    What's the output of xrandr anyway?
    Here is the output before trying to add modes to DVI-0. It says it's disconnected.

    Code:
    ingalsuo@4FIL31884:~$ xrandr
    Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1400 x 1050, maximum 1980 x 1080
    VGA-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    LVDS connected 1400x1050+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 287mm x 215mm
       1400x1050      60.0*+   50.0  
       1280x1024      59.9     60.0  
       1280x960       59.9  
       1280x854       59.9  
       1280x800       59.8  
       1280x720       59.9  
       1152x768       59.8  
       1024x768       60.0     59.9  
       800x600        60.3     59.9  
       640x480        59.9     59.4  
    DVI-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    My T60 is IBM branded early model.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Tampere, Finland
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by agd5f View Post
    Nether driver is able to get an EDID from your monitor. RHD is able to detect something since it implements tmds load detection.
    Radeonhd used to get EDID information since DVI output did work without telling 1680x1050 mode parameters when I was using elder Ubuntu Intrepid. The Dell LCD monitor and the dock were the same.


    However, you can force the monitor on with radeon however:
    xrandr --newmode 1680x1050 146.25 1680 1784 1960 2240 1050 1053 1059 1089 -hsync +vsync
    xrandr --addmode DVI-0 1680x1050
    xrandr --output DVI-0 --mode 1680x1050
    Nothing happens with that. With the last xrandr command this is appended to Xorg.0.log

    Code:
    Dac detection success
    (II) RADEON(0): Output: VGA-0, Detected Monitor Type: 0
    (II) RADEON(0): EDID vendor "LEN", prod id 16418
    (II) RADEON(0): Printing DDC gathered Modelines:
    (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1400x1050"x0.0  108.00  1400 1448 1560 1688  1050 1051 1054 1066 -hsync -vsync (64.0 kHz)
    (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1400x1050"x0.0   89.97  1400 1448 1560 1688  1050 1051 1054 1066 -hsync -vsync (53.3 kHz)
    (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "800x600"x0.0   40.00  800 840 968 1056  600 601 605 628 +hsync +vsync (37.9 kHz)
    (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "640x480"x0.0   25.18  640 656 752 800  480 490 492 525 -hsync -vsync (31.5 kHz)
    (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1024x768"x0.0   65.00  1024 1048 1184 1344  768 771 777 806 -hsync -vsync (48.4 kHz)
    (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1280x1024"x0.0  108.00  1280 1328 1440 1688  1024 1025 1028 1066 +hsync +vsync (64.0 kHz)
    (II) RADEON(0): Output: LVDS, Detected Monitor Type: 2
    (II) RADEON(0): EDID data from the display on output: LVDS ----------------------
    (II) RADEON(0): Manufacturer: LEN  Model: 4022  Serial#: 0
    (II) RADEON(0): Year: 2006  Week: 37
    (II) RADEON(0): EDID Version: 1.3
    (II) RADEON(0): Digital Display Input
    (II) RADEON(0): Max Image Size [cm]: horiz.: 29  vert.: 21
    (II) RADEON(0): Gamma: 2.20
    (II) RADEON(0): DPMS capabilities: StandBy Suspend Off
    (II) RADEON(0): Supported color encodings: RGB 4:4:4 YCrCb 4:4:4 
    (II) RADEON(0): First detailed timing is preferred mode
    (II) RADEON(0): redX: 0.610 redY: 0.330   greenX: 0.300 greenY: 0.530
    (II) RADEON(0): blueX: 0.150 blueY: 0.130   whiteX: 0.313 whiteY: 0.329
    (II) RADEON(0): Supported VESA Video Modes:
    (II) RADEON(0): 640x480@60Hz
    (II) RADEON(0): 800x600@60Hz
    (II) RADEON(0): 1024x768@60Hz
    (II) RADEON(0): Manufacturer's mask: 0
    (II) RADEON(0): Supported Future Video Modes:
    (II) RADEON(0): #0: hsize: 1280  vsize 1024  refresh: 60  vid: 32897
    (II) RADEON(0): Supported additional Video Mode:
    (II) RADEON(0): clock: 108.0 MHz   Image Size:  287 x 215 mm
    (II) RADEON(0): h_active: 1400  h_sync: 1448  h_sync_end 1560 h_blank_end 1688 h_border: 0
    (II) RADEON(0): v_active: 1050  v_sync: 1051  v_sync_end 1054 v_blanking: 1066 v_border: 0
    (II) RADEON(0): Supported additional Video Mode:
    (II) RADEON(0): clock: 90.0 MHz   Image Size:  287 x 215 mm
    (II) RADEON(0): h_active: 1400  h_sync: 1448  h_sync_end 1560 h_blank_end 1688 h_border: 0
    (II) RADEON(0): v_active: 1050  v_sync: 1051  v_sync_end 1054 v_blanking: 1066 v_border: 0
    (WW) RADEON(0): Unknown vendor-specific block f
    (II) RADEON(0):  LTD141EN9B
    (II) RADEON(0): EDID (in hex):
    (II) RADEON(0): 	00ffffffffffff0030ae224000000000
    (II) RADEON(0): 	25100103801d1578ea6f959c544c8726
    (II) RADEON(0): 	21505421080081800101010101010101
    (II) RADEON(0): 	010101010101302a7820511a10403070
    (II) RADEON(0): 	13001fd71000001825237820511a1040
    (II) RADEON(0): 	307013001fd7100000180000000f0090
    (II) RADEON(0): 	43329043280f010030649055000000fe
    (II) RADEON(0): 	004c5444313431454e39420a2020003d
    (II) RADEON(0): EDID vendor "LEN", prod id 16418
    (II) RADEON(0): Output: DVI-0, Detected Monitor Type: 0
    Unhandled monitor type 0
    Last edited by seppoi; 09-28-2009 at 02:31 AM. Reason: Typos

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Tampere, Finland
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by moritz View Post
    My xorg.conf:
    I tried your xorg.conf but there was no difference other than I get complaint about mode bigger than something like 1400x1400 (?) when entering xrandr mode command.

    How is it possible that you are able to use 1920x1200 mode without Virtual in display subsection? Is it because your EDID discovery works or is your hardware different with more graphics RAM?

    I tried to add virtual to your xorg.conf but radeon still refuses to output to DVI-0.

    What dependencies are there for the radeon driver? Is it possible that my tarball --prefix=/usr installs (radeonhd, radeon, drm) on top of Ubuntu has breaked something in X related to EDID?
    Last edited by seppoi; 09-28-2009 at 02:57 AM. Reason: typos

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Hi

    I don't have any problem to use a 1920x1050 resolution via dvi on my T60.
    I'm using the latest xorg edgers build of the radeon driver with kms enabled in karmic alpha.

    greetings

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •