Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 29

Thread: Mesa problem

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,184

    Default

    ok my bad you were i went in automatic to paste radeon.ko in drm folder but in ubuntu radeon.ko is in a subfolder named radeon

    but now i got another issue

    108.239736] radeon: disagrees about version of symbol drm_open
    [ 108.239747] radeon: Unknown symbol drm_open
    [ 108.239945] radeon: disagrees about version of symbol drm_fasync
    [ 108.239949] radeon: Unknown symbol drm_fasync
    [ 108.240309] radeon: disagrees about version of symbol drm_poll
    [ 108.240314] radeon: Unknown symbol drm_poll
    [ 108.240512] radeon: disagrees about version of symbol drm_get_resource_len
    [ 108.240517] radeon: Unknown symbol drm_get_resource_len
    [ 108.240715] radeon: disagrees about version of symbol drm_core_get_reg_ofs
    [ 108.240720] radeon: Unknown symbol drm_core_get_reg_ofs
    [ 108.240970] radeon: Unknown symbol drm_calloc
    [ 108.241211] radeon: disagrees about version of symbol drm_irq_uninstall
    [ 108.241215] radeon: Unknown symbol drm_irq_uninstall
    [ 108.241427] radeon: disagrees about version of symbol drm_get_dev
    [ 108.241431] radeon: Unknown symbol drm_get_dev
    [ 108.241645] radeon: disagrees about version of symbol drm_ioctl
    [ 108.241649] radeon: Unknown symbol drm_ioctl
    [ 108.241891] radeon: disagrees about version of symbol drm_exit
    [ 108.241895] radeon: Unknown symbol drm_exit
    [ 108.242092] radeon: disagrees about version of symbol drm_getsarea
    [ 108.242096] radeon: Unknown symbol drm_getsarea
    [ 108.279191] radeon: disagrees about version of symbol drm_core_ioremapfree
    [ 108.279196] radeon: Unknown symbol drm_core_ioremapfree
    [ 108.279392] radeon: disagrees about version of symbol drm_core_get_map_ofs
    [ 108.279396] radeon: Unknown symbol drm_core_get_map_ofs
    [ 108.279589] radeon: disagrees about version of symbol drm_init
    [ 108.279593] radeon: Unknown symbol drm_init
    [ 108.279800] radeon: disagrees about version of symbol drm_addmap
    [ 108.279804] radeon: Unknown symbol drm_addmap
    [ 108.280101] radeon: disagrees about version of symbol drm_get_resource_start
    [ 108.280106] radeon: Unknown symbol drm_get_resource_start
    [ 108.280299] radeon: disagrees about version of symbol drm_handle_vblank
    [ 108.280303] radeon: Unknown symbol drm_handle_vblank
    [ 108.280521] radeon: Unknown symbol drm_cleanup_pci
    [ 108.280723] radeon: disagrees about version of symbol drm_ati_pcigart_init
    [ 108.280728] radeon: Unknown symbol drm_ati_pcigart_init
    [ 108.280933] radeon: disagrees about version of symbol drm_vblank_init
    [ 108.280938] radeon: Unknown symbol drm_vblank_init
    [ 108.281192] radeon: disagrees about version of symbol drm_core_ioremap_wc
    [ 108.281196] radeon: Unknown symbol drm_core_ioremap_wc
    [ 108.281410] radeon: disagrees about version of symbol drm_mmap
    [ 108.281413] radeon: Unknown symbol drm_mmap
    [ 108.281795] radeon: disagrees about version of symbol drm_ati_pcigart_cleanup
    [ 108.281800] radeon: Unknown symbol drm_ati_pcigart_cleanup
    [ 108.282022] radeon: disagrees about version of symbol drm_compat_ioctl
    [ 108.282026] radeon: Unknown symbol drm_compat_ioctl
    [ 108.282243] radeon: disagrees about version of symbol drm_core_reclaim_buffers
    [ 108.282247] radeon: Unknown symbol drm_core_reclaim_buffers
    [ 108.282464] radeon: disagrees about version of symbol drm_release
    [ 108.282468] radeon: Unknown symbol drm_release

    i copied both drm.ko and radeon.ko and i got drm from here http://xorg.freedesktop.org/wiki/rad...ef25e427f596b9.

    some modinfo

    junior@desktop:~$ modinfo drm
    filename: /lib/modules/2.6.31-8-generic/kernel/drivers/gpu/drm/drm.ko
    license: GPL and additional rights
    description: DRM shared core routines
    author: Gareth Hughes, Leif Delgass, Josť Fonseca, Jon Smirl
    srcversion: EC4D635FB66BADC26AB9F93
    depends:
    vermagic: 2.6.31-8-generic SMP mod_unload modversions
    parm: debug:Enable debug output (int)

    junior@desktop:~$ modinfo radeon
    filename: /lib/modules/2.6.31-8-generic/kernel/drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/radeon.ko
    license: GPL and additional rights
    description: ATI Radeon
    author: Gareth Hughes, Keith Whitwell, others.
    srcversion: 3A2455E860FC3AB3CA052F1
    depends: drm
    vermagic: 2.6.31-8-generic SMP mod_unload modversions
    parm: no_wbisable AGP writeback for scratch registers
    (int)

    junior@desktop:~$ modinfo ttm
    filename: /lib/modules/2.6.31-8-generic/kernel/drivers/gpu/drm/ttm/ttm.ko
    license: GPL and additional rights
    description: TTM memory manager subsystem (for DRM device)
    author: Thomas Hellstrom, Jerome Glisse
    srcversion: 67F26E57D7132626CB2F51C
    depends: drm
    vermagic: 2.6.31-8-generic SMP mod_unload modversions

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,676

    Default

    1) You need both drm.ko and radeon.ko from the repo
    2) There is not yet usable ttm for your computer
    3) Make sure not to mix old drm and new radeon, it'll likely end up with symbol mismatch problems

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,184

    Default

    ok i solve drm/radeon symbol mismatch. it happens that ubuntu karmic kernel initrd have hardcoded drm.ko and i915.ko so after remake problem solved but i got this one

    23.964724] ttm: Unknown symbol drm_mm_get_block_generic
    [ 23.964855] ttm: disagrees about version of symbol drm_mm_takedown
    [ 23.964857] ttm: Unknown symbol drm_mm_takedown
    [ 23.964939] ttm: disagrees about version of symbol drm_mm_put_block
    [ 23.964941] ttm: Unknown symbol drm_mm_put_block
    [ 23.965230] ttm: disagrees about version of symbol drm_mm_search_free
    [ 23.965232] ttm: Unknown symbol drm_mm_search_free
    [ 23.965627] ttm: Unknown symbol drm_mm_pre_get
    [ 23.965801] ttm: Unknown symbol drm_mm_clean
    [ 23.965914] ttm: disagrees about version of symbol drm_mm_init
    [ 23.965916] ttm: Unknown symbol drm_mm_init

    how i can bypass ttm.ko or find a patch?

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,676

    Default

    If you replaced the drm.ko and radeon.ko, you can just create a new initrd.
    Otherwise boot into runlevel 3, rmmod radeon ttm drm (order counts), then insert drm.ko and radeon.ko. (order counts again)

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,184

    Default

    i did that already but radeon.ko try to load ttm.ko, im sure radeon.ko and drm.ko are the rigth ones cuz i delete all except tmm from drm folder and cp those modules only

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,514

    Default

    Did you do a "make" and "sudo make install" from the drm folder to build and install libdrm before going down to linux-core to build and copy the kernel modules ? Wondering if this is a mismatch between drm and libdrm versions.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,184

    Default

    i didnt at the beggining but i did it later and install all again including make - make install with prefix=/usr ofc in the drm folder and re copied later the drm.ko / radeon.ko from linux-core. but ill try a make clean do it from start again tomorrow to be sure. ihad this problem the first but using a staging kernel got fixed, but this time i dont know where find a newest kernel than 2.6.31 rc8. mmm thinking about it maybe the rc8 is too new for latest drm git? just a thougth
    Last edited by jrch2k8; 08-30-2009 at 01:23 AM.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,676

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jrch2k8 View Post
    i did that already but radeon.ko try to load ttm.ko, im sure radeon.ko and drm.ko are the rigth ones cuz i delete all except tmm from drm folder and cp those modules only
    As said, if it's loaded in initrd, it doesn't make any different which files you replace before you create a new initrd. The modules are actually inside the initrd.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    208

    Default

    I would think no one should put video drivers or other similar modules in the initrd as their not required for booting. The video, sound, tv-capture, and in most cases network modules can be loaded as modules after booting into the kernel.

    In the odd event I use my initrd, all I ever have in it is the ide/sata and filesystem (ext2, ext3, jfs, xfs, and maybe vfat/ntfs). That's the minimum I need to boot.

    What is rationale for why karmac has drm in initrd?

    Edit: if this is case, make a new initrd in your /boot folder:
    Something like:
    mkinitrd -c -k <your kernel, the number needs to be in /lib/modules/> -m ext2:ext3:xfs

    There are other options but this works for me.
    Last edited by forum1793; 08-30-2009 at 10:55 AM.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,676

    Default

    Actually with KMS you probably want to put them either in initrd or have them inbuilt if you want them loaded in early boot. (ttm hints to them shipping KMS for earlier chips)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •