Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stop grabbing my keyboard :(

To all game developers, porters and everyone else,

please stop grabbing my keyboard, as it get's me very frustrated.

The other day I was playing World of Goo and found out I couldn't change the sound volume with my keyboard, so I tried to alt+tab, but guess what..
    The game grabs the whole keyboard, I had to go to windowed mode to do anything. I got angry and kept wondering why the hell a game that only uses the mouse has to grab my keyboard.

But that isn't the only game, I found out almost every game on linux grabs the whole input.
    How come? no idea, please tell me.

I know of etswitch, but that doesn't work for every game (like warsow).
    So I fixed it myself http://www.warsow.net/forum/viewtopic.php?id=20771
    for warsow.

Now I'm planning to do a few other games too (I'm not a good programmer,
    but I learn fast).
    So if anyone has a favorite game to fix, I might do that one next.
    Because I think this is one of the things that keeps the windows users from using (playing games on) linux.

eduke32 does this too. It's a huge pain.

Comment

@blablabla

That's really annoying even when you play caster3d, when you use wine then it works...

Comment

Wow do I know what you mean...
        Fortunately HoN got it right, even though everything is horribly slow when you alt+tab out.
        AFAIK this is some limitation in SDL (I seem to remember Svartalf saying something like that). I'm no expert though...

Comment

I don't think sdl grabs all the imput all the time.
          But others games not using sdl do the same.

Anyway, as I said, this is one of the things that keep people from using linux.
          Because in windows it's a common thing to alt+tab out of a game.

A lot of gamers use irc while gaming, are on teamspeak (push button to talk) and want to quickly alt+tab out of the game to look up soem console command.