Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 74

Thread: Caster has gone Gold!

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,598

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,598

    Default

    Back to caster, after i heard about problems with the Linux port, i played the game a bit longer to verify those. And they are definitely there when you shoot at enemies together with some other aspects which are not yet solved. To see it better i want a fps counter, so how to enable that? Also i have got xbox gamepads and that games not allow me to select the axis it should use. It defaults to axis 0 to 3, that might be correct for most pads, but i need axis 0/1 and 3/4. You see that even from this output:

    Code:
    jscal /dev/input/js0
    Joystick has 8 axes and 10 buttons.
    Correction for axis 0 is broken line, precision is 16.
    Coeficients are: -128, 128, 16513, 16513
    Correction for axis 1 is broken line, precision is 16.
    Coeficients are: -128, 128, 16513, 16513
    Correction for axis 2 is broken line, precision is 0.
    Coeficients are: 127, 127, 4227330, 4227330
    Correction for axis 3 is broken line, precision is 16.
    Coeficients are: -128, 128, 16513, 16513
    Correction for axis 4 is broken line, precision is 16.
    Coeficients are: -128, 128, 16513, 16513
    Correction for axis 5 is broken line, precision is 0.
    Coeficients are: 127, 127, 4227330, 4227330
    Correction for axis 6 is broken line, precision is 0.
    Coeficients are: 0, 0, 536870912, 536870912
    Correction for axis 7 is broken line, precision is 0.
    Coeficients are: 0, 0, 536870912, 536870912
    The analog pads show a precision of 16. Funnyly wine + windows demo runs absolutely smooth, just the Linux port has performance issues
    Last edited by Kano; 05-18-2009 at 08:02 PM.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    108

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kano View Post
    Back to caster, after i heard about problems with the Linux port, i played the game a bit longer to verify those. And they are definitely there when you shoot at enemies together with some other aspects which are not yet solved. To see it better i want a fps counter, so how to enable that? Also i have got xbox gamepads and that games not allow me to select the axis it should use. It defaults to axis 0 to 3, that might be correct for most pads, but i need axis 0/1 and 3/4. You see that even from this output:

    Code:
    jscal /dev/input/js0
    Joystick has 8 axes and 10 buttons.
    Correction for axis 0 is broken line, precision is 16.
    Coeficients are: -128, 128, 16513, 16513
    Correction for axis 1 is broken line, precision is 16.
    Coeficients are: -128, 128, 16513, 16513
    Correction for axis 2 is broken line, precision is 0.
    Coeficients are: 127, 127, 4227330, 4227330
    Correction for axis 3 is broken line, precision is 16.
    Coeficients are: -128, 128, 16513, 16513
    Correction for axis 4 is broken line, precision is 16.
    Coeficients are: -128, 128, 16513, 16513
    Correction for axis 5 is broken line, precision is 0.
    Coeficients are: 127, 127, 4227330, 4227330
    Correction for axis 6 is broken line, precision is 0.
    Coeficients are: 0, 0, 536870912, 536870912
    Correction for axis 7 is broken line, precision is 0.
    Coeficients are: 0, 0, 536870912, 536870912
    The analog pads show a precision of 16. Funnyly wine + windows demo runs absolutely smooth, just the Linux port has performance issues
    Can you post output of this fine command:
    jscal -q /dev/input/js0

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,598

    Default

    jscal -q /dev/input/js0
    jscal: error getting button map: Invalid argument

    Btw. music does not work correctly with wine correcty, just disable it and use amarok I still don't know how to dive in the water. Next thing which is better with wine: you can use alt-tab to switch to the desktop without closing the game.
    Last edited by Kano; 05-18-2009 at 09:08 PM.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    108

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kano View Post
    jscal -q /dev/input/js0
    jscal: error getting button map: Invalid argument

    Btw. music does not work correctly with wine correcty, just disable it and use amarok I still don't know how to dive in the water. Next thing which is better with wine: you can use alt-tab to switch to the desktop without closing the game.
    As I tough, jscal fails. I had a hacked version of it that didn't fail on this bug(just commented out some returns). I will try to find it(for now I have only binary version). Unfortunately now I can't search for it, maybe tomorrow.

    Under linux you can actually remap joystick axes and buttons.
    To do this you need output of jscal -q /dev/input/js0
    like this (mine as example):
    Code:
    jscal -u 7,0,1,2,3,5,16,17,12,288,289,290,291,292,293,294,295,296,297,298,299 /dev/input/js0
    first number is number of axes
    then come actual axes
    ninth number is number of buttons(after axes)
    and after that buttons itself.
    To swap axes you need to swap appropriate numbers and run command.

    In this example I swap 4th and 5th axis.

    Code:
    jscal -u 7,0,1,2,5,3,16,17,12,288,289,290,291,292,293,294,295,296,297,298,299 /dev/input/js0
    For some strange reason for SDL you must set SDL_JOYSTICK_DEVICE to point to joystick device file or remap won't affect app.
    Last edited by sobkas; 05-18-2009 at 10:26 PM.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,598

    Default

    jscal -q /dev/input/js0
    jscal: error getting button map: Invalid argument
    jscal -u 8,0,1,2,3,4,5,16,17,10,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0 /dev/input/js0

    The problem seem to be the 0s which are invalid.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    80

    Default

    If only Steam were to nativly work on GNU/Linux. Buying/installing games and keeping them updated would be so easy.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    3,046

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kano View Post
    Back to caster, after i heard about problems with the Linux port, i played the game a bit longer to verify those. And they are definitely there when you shoot at enemies together with some other aspects which are not yet solved. To see it better i want a fps counter, so how to enable that?
    I'll look into getting it turned on. It's not rendering as best as I can tell- and we had only one tester that showed with the problem and we thought we had it squared. It looks to be something that it trips over and stalls parts of the engine one events. I'm trying to get it found and fixed so we don't have issues for people.


    Also i have got xbox gamepads and that games not allow me to select the axis it should use. It defaults to axis 0 to 3, that might be correct for most pads, but i need axis 0/1 and 3/4. You see that even from this output:
    Unfortunately, I'm stuck with the stuff that SDL provides there. I'll look into providing some overrides in the setup.ini for the next pass at this.

    The analog pads show a precision of 16. Funnyly wine + windows demo runs absolutely smooth, just the Linux port has performance issues
    It runs smoothly on either WINE or Linux on most machines, we're getting bit by varying things right at the moment.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,598

    Default

    @SolidSteel144

    Steam works perfectly with wine. No tricks needed at all. But that game is extra easy, when you diff the dirs between the demo versions you will find out what i mean.

    @Svartalf

    I think a Q9300 @ 3 GHz together with a Nvidia 8800 GTS 512 should be enough for that little game... Used my own Lenny based distro btw. 64 bit variant.

    Did anybody find way to enable the level editor mentioned in:

    https://docs.google.com/Doc?docid=dd...gxfnrxgb&hl=en

    The --scene option works with the .bin file but ctrl+l does nothing.
    Last edited by Kano; 05-19-2009 at 07:45 AM.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    3,046

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kano View Post
    I think a Q9300 @ 3 GHz together with a Nvidia 8800 GTS 512 should be enough for that little game... Used my own Lenny based distro btw. 64 bit variant.
    My Q9500 pastes it. My E4500 and E5500 desktops don't trip over it either. The machine I have that seems to be able to do it on demand is my T5200 based laptop- and I'd not thought of testing on it during the beta cycle. It's not a performance issue as best as I can tell- it's something in the timings that is causing it to off into the rough on me. I'm chasing it down right now. Hoping to have a fix for the people encountering the issue (not everybody is- but enough of them are that it's priority one over anything other than the day-job and the like right at the moment...)

    Did anybody find way to enable the level editor mentioned in:

    https://docs.google.com/Doc?docid=dd...gxfnrxgb&hl=en

    The --scene option works with the .bin file but ctrl+l does nothing.
    I'll check to see if it's enabled right.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •