Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 113

Thread: X.Org ATI Driver Supports New Power Options

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15,080

    Default X.Org ATI Driver Supports New Power Options

    Phoronix: X.Org ATI Driver Supports New Power Options

    Besides seeing 3D acceleration for their hardware in an open-source driver, one of the other leading requests from ATI Radeon customers has been to see improved power management within the ATI X.Org driver stack. There is Dynamic Clocks support and some other power management capabilities, along with some more innovative ways, but ATI's PowerPlay is not fully implemented in the open-source stack...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=NzIwNg

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,154

    Default

    1. Why isn't DynamicClocks enabled by default?
    2. What's the need for ForceLowPowerMode, when DynamicPM does the same but only when necessary?
    3. Why should DynamicPM decrease performance?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    30

    Default

    ForceLowPowerMode can be useful, if you are in batterie mode; even though it's use get's lost, as you can't dynamical change the Mode. That DynamicPM decreases performance is a common bias against any power management (and is plain wrong).

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    598

    Default

    Maybe R600+ have other power management features, so this is how it is done one R100-R500 ?

    Very cool that power management begins to be supported!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,394

    Default

    The DynamicPM option shouldn't affect performance. It only switches to a low power mode during idle (DPMS active). When you are using the system, it switches back to the default power mode.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany/NRW
    Posts
    510

    Default

    @agd5f: What does idle mean in this case? Since it's somehow connected to dpms I guess something like display is turned off/in standby?
    Or does it in fact react on gpu-load? And if so, would e.g. Compiz trigger a higher performance mode?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Have a good day.
    Posts
    678

    Default

    These are very good news. I've been changing between fglrx and radeon since always and since I don't play any games in linux this can be what will enable me to ditch fglrx for good.

    You also get lower performance in fglrx when you enable a power save mode. It has no real impact when watching films or under normal usage; you notice it when you measure the fps of some 3D application. I always use the laptop in lower power mode unless I explicitly tell it not to do so, and everything is fine.

    Excellent.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1

    Thumbs up DynamicPM option

    Quote Originally Posted by agd5f View Post
    The DynamicPM option shouldn't affect performance. It only switches to a low power mode during idle (DPMS active). When you are using the system, it switches back to the default power mode.
    At the moment, this doesn't work for me. With activated DynamicPM option, the card always uses the lowest possible mode. But perhaps this isn't the right place for bug reports and of course it's still development code.

    But nevertheless thank you for bringing power management to R700 based cards on linux! This saves nearly 17W for me in regular system operation, since the Radeon 4670 is only actually powersaving when those powerplay features are activated.

    Niagra

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Niagra View Post
    But nevertheless thank you for bringing power management to R700 based cards on linux! This saves nearly 17W for me in regular system operation, since the Radeon 4670 is only actually powersaving when those powerplay features are activated.
    my 4850 _should_ clock down to 160mhz gpu and 500mhz ram since I patched the bios. But the funny thing is that mine saves exactely 17W, too. With option "ForceLowPowerMode" on that is. No power saving without options, but I didn't try the other option.

    Thanks again to the Xorg team and AMD!

    PS: could you use someone with a R700 but without any clue for beta testing?
    or is this already beta testing?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    598

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by agd5f View Post
    The DynamicPM option shouldn't affect performance. It only switches to a low power mode during idle (DPMS active). When you are using the system, it switches back to the default power mode.
    You know a lot about this topic. Was it you who implemented it?

    Does this mean that AMD have finished writing the power management specs and released them to some developers?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •