Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Is radeonhd healthy for your laptop?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    515

    Default Is radeonhd healthy for your laptop?

    Hello everyone.

    I wonder if it is save to run radeonhd on a laptop with hd3650, given there is no powermanagement yet? I really want to use it as the default driver, and not just on a test distribution. Its getting more hot than with catalyst (comparable with catalyst when a heavy graphic application is running). But does that hurt my chipset on the graphiccard?

    If its not save, is there any estimated timeframe, within powermanagement is done?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    515

    Default

    Bridgman? Anybody know if a chipset is damaged with a longterm use of 100 % gpu?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    404

    Default

    It shouldn't cause a problem unless your laptop is improperly designed and not properly cooled (which, sadly, is far too often the case). If your laptop starts overheating when you use radeonhd, you probably shouldn't, but the only way you can find that out is by testing it.

    Oh, and radeonhd doesn't necessarily use more power all the time, because, as I understand it, it doesn't even turn on some blocks of the card because it doesn't use them yet.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,024

    Default

    It should be no worse than running some overly demanding game or rendering app for hours on end using the official drivers on Windows, I would think. If your laptop would overheat and damage itself in that case, I'd return it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    515

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by elanthis View Post
    It should be no worse than running some overly demanding game or rendering app for hours on end using the official drivers on Windows, I would think. If your laptop would overheat and damage itself in that case, I'd return it.
    Yeah you are probably right. But would the headsink be bios controlen in that case?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,105

    Default

    Yeah you are probably right. But would the headsink be bios controlen in that case?
    Yes, by the graphic card's bios.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    515

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by curaga View Post
    Yes, by the graphic card's bios.
    Okay, then I could probably use radeonHD. It's on an asus laptop, so lets see.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    160

    Default

    you will loose alot of battery life though by running the fan at 100%

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    515

    Default

    yeah but I run with the powercable plugged in anyway. :-)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    160

    Default

    In that case, make sure that ventilation is good all round the laptop and running it at full pace shouldnt give you any troubles. I know my girlfriends Acer laptop can't run at 100% for more than a few minutes without crashing...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •