Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Which output belongs to which device?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    148

    Default Which output belongs to which device?

    Hey,
    I'm trying to find out which ouput (of xrandr) belongs to what device. Currently, my output of xrandr is:
    Code:
    Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1680 x 1050, maximum 1680 x 1600 
    VGA-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 
    DVI-0 connected 1680x1050+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 433mm x 271mm 
       1680x1050      59.9*+ 
       1280x1024      75.0     60.0  
       1280x960       60.0  
       1152x864       75.0  
       1024x768       75.0     70.1     60.0  
       832x624        74.6  
       800x600        72.2     75.0     60.3     56.2  
       640x480        75.0     72.8     66.7     59.9  
       720x400        70.1  
    None disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    On this computer it's easy, because it has only one device:
    Code:
    01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon HD 3300 Graphics
    But what to do if I have multiple devices with the same name?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,571

    Default

    You shouldn't normally have multiple devices with the same name. The suffix is supposed to get bumped, eg DVI-0, DVI-1 etc...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    148

    Default

    Maby I wansn't really clear (sorry). Assume that I have two devices:
    Code:
    01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon HD 4780 Graphics
    02:07.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon HD 4780 Graphics
    And this is the output of xrandr:
    Code:
    VGA-0 disconnected
    VGA-1 connected
    DVI-0 connected
    DVI-1 disconnected
    To wich card (PCI device) does VGA-0 belong? And DVI-0?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,571

    Default

    Ahh, THAT kind of device

    Until something like "GPU objects" are added to the RandR extension I don't know of any way to manage multiple cards using RandR. Might be possible, don't know.

    The obvious question is "so why haven't GPU objects been added ?", and the answer as I understand it is that adding GPU objects to RandR also requires the addition of something like "shatter", which splits drawing requests across multiple GPUs so that the illusion of a single virtual screen area can be maintained for RandR.
    Last edited by bridgman; 02-03-2009 at 11:50 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    148

    Default

    Thanks for clearing that up!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,571

    Default

    I think fglrx supports multiple cards these days, just not with RandR (since RandR doesn't handle multiiple GPUs yet).

    EDIT - sorry, that's just on the professional products (FireGL/FirePRO) :

    http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?pag...item&px=NjczNQ
    Last edited by bridgman; 02-03-2009 at 12:29 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    148

    Default

    Weren't GPU objects promised for RandR 1.3 (which is in Jaunty now)?

    Edit; Ah, yes!:
    Back in January there was talk of GPU object support for RandR 1.3 and then in late October the RandR properties support started to come together. Today though, Novell's Matthias Hopf has sent thirteen patches to the X.Org mailing list that introduce RandR 1.3 for xrandr, randrproto, libXrandr, and the X Serve
    http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?pag...item&px=Njg4Mw

    Edit2; D***.. not:
    http://lists.freedesktop.org/archive...ry/043242.html
    Last edited by MartjeB; 02-15-2009 at 04:58 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,571

    Default

    The rule of thumb seems to be that GPU objects are always going to be in the RandR version *after* the one currently being worked on.

    The RandR model combines all the displays into a single desktop, as I understand it. This is easy with a single GPU (one big frame buffer with each CRTC pointing to a portion of that frame buffer) but very un-easy with >1 GPU since you sometimes need to split up drawing commands across GPUs (imagine a rectangle spanning two displays on different GPUs). Ajax has been working on an implementation of this called "shatter".

    EDIT - there also seem to be conflicting views about whether shatter is needed for GPU objects or not. This might be contributing to the delay.

    Anyways, GPU objects seemed to be in the plan for RandR 1.3 as late as XDC in April 2008, but fell off the list some time after that, probably based on the amount of time available to work on it.
    Last edited by bridgman; 02-15-2009 at 05:58 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •