linux graphics card: Dual Head (Twinview etc) a must

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• linux graphics card: Dual Head (Twinview etc) a must

So I've been using linux for a few years and reading phoronix articles for a while as well.
    Today, my Nvidia 8500GT card randomly "died". By "died" i mean that now when I try to boot, instead of getting my boot post screen, I hear the usual beep, but the display is grey and green boxes (mostly grey). No text. Totally distorted.

This brings me to two questions:

1. How did my video card get F'd up? It literally worked on minute, the next, it wasnt. At first I just thought I couldnt wake my computer and was gonna restart-- then what I described above. Over and over.

2. Assuming the card is gone, I need to reprioritize. I dont play games. I NEED to have dual monitors working, though. Need. WHat's the best route to go (ATI-NVIDIA-WHATEVER) to easily get to where I can get a xorg.conf that will give me dual monitors.

Also, is it safe to just yank out the nvidia card and try the onboard card?

The onboard, i believe is an ATI card. I should at least be able to see the boot post then, right?

Thanks

Miesnerd

Any onboard VGA should show a picture. It is not that hard to try or? Just 2 monitors can be a bit problematic as sometimes as some connectors are shared to one output channel. So not all combinations work -> most easy way: test it! If you installed nvidia drivers using the Nvidia installer do:

nvidia-installer --uninstall

and reset the xorg.conf, if you use a Debian or Ubuntu distro you do that like:

rm /etc/X11/xorg.conf*
    dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

After that you should be able to see something - and then you can install ATI drivers too. Basically since Xserver 1.3 you can do this too - if you don't use Debian:

rm /etc/X11/xorg.conf

If you want to use the aticonfig tool after ati driver install you only need to:

touch /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    aticonfig --initial

Comment