Page 2 of 13 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 123

Thread: FGLRX Catalyst and Resizing with Desktop Effects

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Yes.

    But even resizing with window contents not shown is slow. There's a lag from when you drop the handle and when the resizing actually occurs.

    Solutions solutions solutions. We need some sort of work around. Anybody have an idea?

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
    Same here. Users who report that it works for them usually don't have the window contents shown while resizing. With the window contents shown, resizing is slow as hell. Maximizing windows is also slow. This has been this way for as long as I can remember and with any compositing manager I ever tried.
    i give you 3 nivida carts for your ati...

    1 a 7900gt and a 8600mobile .. but yes the 8600 are hartware bugget blackscreen thermalrunaway the notbook are death becourse nvidia hate good hartware becource if this vga does not go for death after 1-2 years there can not sell 5 carts a year to you... the 7900gt was dies the thermal runaway to and my old geforce 6800 was death to by hartware thermal bugs.........

    in my world all over all nvidia vgas dies... nowere was an old one becourse nvidia does not want old carts run well they want sell new ones...

    i have an old r300 X800 works well on the opensource driver this pc is perfekt you dont need install any driver anymore.

    so i want vga carts with no hartware self-destroy funktions and i want linux pcs wo i dont need install new driver or install driver i want linux run out of the box...

    so if you want a nvidia i can send you a not funktional 6800 for free and freee shiping too.
    Last edited by Qaridarium; 01-30-2009 at 09:06 PM.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Switching cards is not an option. Thanks.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zx2c4 View Post
    Switching cards is not an option. Thanks.
    do you have try the 9.2beta "8.581_RC1" ?

    becourse yes the 9.1 is the stable one but you already testet this one so try the next one.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    24

    Default

    The problem exists in the leaked 9.2 as well.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    30

    Default

    In ccsm, go into the 'resize' plugin and try the different options. I think there's one called 'scale', which will resize the pixmap of the window until you stop resizing the windows, at which point you'll trigger a 'normal' resize. I can't confirm the exact option name as my system has bigger issues at the moment ...

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zx2c4 View Post
    The problem exists in the leaked 9.2 as well.
    the leaked 9.2 is not the last 9.2 the last is 8.581_RC1

    the leaket one was not a realase canditate

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,791

    Default

    I wonder in how many years AMD will fix this bug. If they'll fix it at all that is. Up till now, they don't seem to care much.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Qaridarium: please send me a link and I'll try it out.

    dkasak: any solution for kwin4?

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zx2c4 View Post
    Qaridarium: please send me a link and I'll try it out.

    dkasak: any solution for kwin4?

    i don't have a link.. i only have this one on my harddrive,,,
    the leaket one is "8.58" 8.581rc1 is newer.

    if you want give me your icq number or somthing else.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •