X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ATI 9200 + FC6+ Kernel 2.6.20-1.2925.fc6 problem Please HELP

Hey Everyone,

Is there an updated script for Micheal post:

That will work for ATI 9200 + FC6+ Kernel 2.6.20-1.2925.fc6. I have not been able to successfully get the Fglrx driver working with any kernel and its been days working at it. Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks

lokielogics,

If you manually patch the newer firegl_public code from 8.34 with the 2.6.20 patch, you should be able to then backport that code into the 8.28.8 driver using my script.

Otherwise once this month's driver is out, I'll push out some new updated firegl_public code for the legacy driver.

Will that work for you?
    Michael Larabel
    https://www.michaellarabel.com/

Comment

Hey Michael,

Thank you for the quick response. I have been working on this for so long, I had no idea that my card would cause so many problems. I am new to FC6 so bare with me.

I install a fresh copy of FC6, then I updated all the packages so I now have kernel 2.6.20-1.2925.fc6 i686. At this point should I download the
      ATI Proprietary Linux x86 Display Driver 8.28.8. and install it. because when I try that I get the following error

ATI module generator V 2.0
      ==========================
      initializing...
      cat: /lib/modules/2.6.20-1.2925.fc6/build/include/linux/version-*.h: No such file or directory
      Error:
      kernel includes at /lib/modules/2.6.20-1.2925.fc6/build/include do not match current kernel.
      they are versioned as ""
      instead of "2.6.20-1.2925.fc6".
      you might need to adjust your symlinks:
      - /usr/include
      - /usr/src/linux
      error: Bad exit status from /tmp/ATI-fglrx-8.28.8-1-12875-root/tmp/rpm-tmp.54023 (%install)

RPM build errors:
      Bad exit status from /tmp/ATI-fglrx-8.28.8-1-12875-root/tmp/rpm-tmp.54023 (%install)
      Removing temporary directory: fglrx-install