Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24

Thread: AMD Shanghai Opteron CPUs On Linux

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    97

    Default

    ooooooOOOOOOooooo I'm excited for you! :P
    Let us know how it goes

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Connecticut,USA
    Posts
    985

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by d2kx View Post
    So, my new AMD Phenom II X4 940 system using an AMD 790GX/SB750 motherboard and an AMD Radeon HD 4850 1GB is arriving soon Could have been here already if I didn't do a mistake, well it's coming early next week now
    Now that sounds like a sweet machine

    Load it up with as much RAM as it could accept, a kickass video card and some fast disk storage and you'd have a winner!

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Hi,

    I'm curious, when testing the Shanghai Opteron CPUs in Linux, did cpufreq work?

    Were you able to change the frequency of the cpu's through linux?

    Or did the BIOS not support this.

    Thanks,

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,177

    Default

    I don't know about Shanghai, but cpufreq works great with my Phenom II X4 940 and supports all four CnQ modes (3000 MHz, 2300 MHz, 1800 MHz, 800 MHz).

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by d2kx View Post
    I don't know about Shanghai, but cpufreq works great with my Phenom II X4 940 and supports all four CnQ modes (3000 MHz, 2300 MHz, 1800 MHz, 800 MHz).
    Interesting... What motherboard do you have?
    I have a phenom 9500, and it only supports 2 CnQ modes (1100 MHz, 2200 MHz) under Linux, using a Gigabyte 770 AM2+ board.

    i had read earlier that cpufreq wasnt working when phoronix reviewed the opteron 2356

    The only disturbance we ran into with the Opteron 2356 processors were PowerNow technology not working with Ubuntu 8.04 Beta
    with the Linux 2.6.24 kernel. We suspect, however, that this issue should be addressed in the near future with cpufreq.
    not sure if its because of the bios or linux kernel...
    it'd be great to know before I buy one

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,177

    Default

    MSI DKA790GX with BIOS v1.6

    It isn't even one of the newer boards... it's shipped with 790GX/SB750!

  7. #17
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,587

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by webdoctors View Post
    Interesting... What motherboard do you have?
    I have a phenom 9500, and it only supports 2 CnQ modes (1100 MHz, 2200 MHz) under Linux, using a Gigabyte 770 AM2+ board.

    i had read earlier that cpufreq wasnt working when phoronix reviewed the opteron 2356

    not sure if its because of the bios or linux kernel...
    it'd be great to know before I buy one

    Your 9500 shows only 2 values because there are actually only two values on the processor. I actually filed a bug report with that on the kernel and after further investigation and confirmation from AMD that the Phenoms only had two values and it was actually the windows C'n'Q driver that was misreporting the additional values.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default per core dynamic frequency voltage scaling on AMD Shanghai

    Hello,

    does anyone know whether it is possible to perform DVFS on a per-core basis? That would mean that it is possible to set one core at frequency F1 and another core (in the same chip) at frequency F2 (F1!=F2).

    Have you performed any test like this one? For example the command 'cpufreq-info' can provide that information.

    Thank you for any information you can provide us on this.

    Best Regards,
    Victor

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    351

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by webdoctors View Post
    Hi,

    I'm curious, when testing the Shanghai Opteron CPUs in Linux, did cpufreq work?

    Were you able to change the frequency of the cpu's through linux?

    Or did the BIOS not support this.

    Thanks,
    I have a SuperMicro H8DME-2 with two Shanghai Opterons on it. I'm running Fedora 10. CPUfreq just works by default, I didn't have to do anything. At idle it runs 800 MHz. The steps are: 800 MHz, 1.3 GHz, 1.8 GHz, 2.5 GHz.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default AMD Shanghai Opteron CPUs On Linux

    I seem to have difficulty finding reviews relating to the AMD Dual Core Opteron 185. I believe its the last Socket 939 upgrade. The only thing I know about this cpu is from people from other forums saying how good it was. Any suggestions and comments as to where I can read a review about it, or you may have your own opinion or experience of it? How long has this cpu been around?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •