Page 10 of 13 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast
Results 91 to 100 of 121

Thread: random X freeze with latest ati driver

  1. #91
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    112

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    Just checking, have you already tried the usual suggestions, eg taking AGP mode down to 1 etc ?
    Yes, I did. I can't remember, exactly, but I think I can only take it down to 4, 1 seems not to be allowed with my hardware. Freezes still occured.

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    If you're running a post-6.12.2 driver it might be useful to try ForceLowPowerMode just in case cooling is a factor.
    I'll try that after the next freeze.

    But as I said before, I don't believe it's a heat problem. If the GPU is running too hot, now, it would never have worked in the first place and I would have brought the laptop back to my dealer a few years ago, when I still had warranty.

  2. #92
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I don't know if this is helpfull but since this bug also affects me here are my settings:
    Code:
    # lspci | grep VGA
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc M56P [Radeon Mobility X1600]
    I'm using gentoo on a Toshiba A100 laptop:
    Code:
    # uname -a
    Linux jenny 2.6.30-gentoo-r1 #1 SMP PREEMPT Mon Jun 15 10:43:35 WEST 2009 i686 Genuine Intel(R) CPU T2400 @ 1.83GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
    and this is my xorg.conf:
    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout"
    	Identifier     "Main Layout"
    	Screen      0  "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" 0 0
    	Option	    "AIGLX" "on"
    #	Option      "AIGLX" "off"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Files"
    #	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/local"
    	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc"
    	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
    	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/TTF"
    	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi"
    	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
    #	Load  "dbe"
    	SubSection "extmod"
    		Option	    "omit xfree86-dga"
    	EndSubSection
    	Load  "freetype"
    	Load  "glx"
    #	Load  "xtrap"
    	Load  "extmod"
    	Load  "GLcore"
    	Load  "dri"
    	Load  "dri2"
    	Load  "record"
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerFlags"
    	Option      "DontZap" "false"
    	Option	    "blank time" "10"	# 10 minutes
    	Option	    "standby time" "20"
    	Option	    "suspend time" "30"
    	Option	    "off time" "60"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier  "Mouse1"
    	Driver      "mouse"
    	Option	    "Protocol" "Microsoft"
    	Option	    "Device" "/dev/mouse"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier  "Mouse2"
    	Driver      "mouse"
    	Option	    "Protocol" "MouseMan"
    	Option	    "Device" "/dev/mouse2"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    	Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
    	Option	    "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
    	Option	    "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
    	Option	    "DPMS" "true"
    
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
    	Driver      "radeonhd"
    	VendorName  "ATI Technologies Inc"
    	BoardName   "Radeon Mobility X1600"
    	BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
    
    #radeonhd settings
    	Option      "AccelMethod"        "EXA"
    #	Option      "ExaNoComposite"     "true"
    #	Option      "AccelMethod"        "XAA"
    	Option      "DRI"                "true"
    #	Option	    "DRI2"               "true"
    	Option      "NoDDC"
    
    
    # flgrx settings
    #        Option      "DRI" "true"
    #        Option      "XAANoOffscreenPixmaps" "on" 
    #        Option      "TexturedVideo" "on"
    #        Option      "VideoOverlay" "off"
    #        Option      "OpenGLOverlay" "off"
    #        Option      "Textured2D" "on"
    #        Option      "TexturedXrender" "on"
    #        Option      "UseFastTLS" "1"
    #        Option      "BackingStore" "on"
    #        Option      "TexturedVideoSync" "True"
    #        Option      "EnableMonitor" "tv"
    
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
    	Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
    	Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
    	DefaultDepth     24
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Viewport   0 0
    		Depth     24
    	EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "DRI"
    	Group        0
    	Mode         0666
    EndSection
    
    Section "Extensions"
    	Option	    "DAMAGE" "true"
    	Option	    "RENDER" "true"
    	Option	    "Composite" "true"
    #	Option	    "XVideo" "Enable"
    EndSection
    XAA works fine, EXA locks up after a while.

    Hope it helps.

  3. #93
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    343

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Stormking View Post
    Yes, I did. I can't remember, exactly, but I think I can only take it down to 4, 1 seems not to be allowed with my hardware. Freezes still occured.
    Did you try all choices 4, 2 and 1 (or 8 and 4 for AGPv3 cards)? AGPMode mismatch is the number one cause for crashes on AGP cards. Lately there have also been some issues in 2.6.29 (as agd5f mentioned) which got fixed in 2.6.30 final. Then there have been reported some random crashes with ext4. The best would be if we could track your issues in a bug report so that we can see all your logs and relevant information without wading through a busy discussion forum.

  4. #94
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    112

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tormod View Post
    Did you try all choices 4, 2 and 1 (or 8 and 4 for AGPv3 cards)? AGPMode mismatch is the number one cause for crashes on AGP cards.
    I think I have an AGPv3 card and I tested 4 and tried to test 1 (which didn't work). 8 seems to be the default. Anyway, it didn't stop X from freezing.

    Quote Originally Posted by tormod View Post
    Lately there have also been some issues in 2.6.29 (as agd5f mentioned) which got fixed in 2.6.30 final. Then there have been reported some random crashes with ext4.
    Sorry, only ext2 and ext3, here.

    Quote Originally Posted by tormod View Post
    The best would be if we could track your issues in a bug report so that we can see all your logs and relevant information without wading through a busy discussion forum.
    Should I use the entry mentioned above (http://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=16198) or open a new one?

    Btw: Nearly 4 hours since setting MigrationHeuristics to "greedy" and no freeze, yet.

  5. #95
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    343

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Stormking View Post
    Should I use the entry mentioned above (http://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=16198) or open a new one?
    Please file your own bug. It is not sure you have the same issue as Mikko, and your card is different. Attach your logs and explain everything you have tried, and last good version if there was any.

  6. #96
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    112

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tormod View Post
    Please file your own bug. It is not sure you have the same issue as Mikko, and your card is different. Attach your logs and explain everything you have tried,
    I'll collect all the information, tonight. Which logs apart from X and kernel do you need? And btw., I never found anything in there.

    Quote Originally Posted by tormod View Post
    and last good version if there was any.
    That was around the time when TV-Out for R300 was added, I think.

  7. #97
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default

    I guess I'll add to this thread in hopes it will be fixed eventually.

    I'm using a Radeon 9550 (R300) 256mb AGP 4x card with the open source ati drivers. Whenever I run a 3d intensive application, it'll render properly for a few seconds, then my screen goes black, my monitor loses signal, and my computer completely freezes. It takes no input from keyboard/mouse, audio starts stuttering and sounds like a buzzsaw, and I'm forced to shutdown with the power button.

    Whenever I'm playing a game that uses harware acceleration but is not very intensive (such as StepMania), the game runs fine for 3-5 minutes and then the same problem I stated previously occurs. Screen goes black, unresponsive, etc.

    Whenever I'm just running a simple KDE desktop without any desktop effects, I experience no problems. It's only when I'm running an OpenGL application does the problem happen.

    I'm currently using the latest GIT versions of:
    xf86-video-ati-git
    mesa-git
    dri2proto-git
    libdrm-git
    glproto-git

    The freezing has been occuring for at least a year now, even to this day with the latest updates.

    System Specs:
    Intel P4 2.0ghz (845g motherboard)
    ATI Radeon 9550 (R300) 256mb AGP 4x
    Arch Linux with latest updates

    By the way, this problem does not occur AT ALL on Windows XP with the same AGP Mode (4x). I can even overclock this card heavily with Windows XP without problems, so I doubt it's a heat issue

    Here is my Xorg.conf:
    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout"
    	Identifier     "X.org Configured"
    	Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    	InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    	InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Files"
    	ModulePath   "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
    	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc"
    	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
    	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
    	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/TTF"
    	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
    	Load  "dbe"
    	Load  "dri2"
    	Load  "record"
    	Load  "glx"
    	Load  "dri"
    	Load  "extmod"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier  "Keyboard0"
    	Driver      "kbd"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier  "Mouse0"
    	Driver      "mouse"
    	Option	    "Protocol" "auto"
    	Option	    "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    	Option	    "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    	#DisplaySize	  380   300	# mm
    	Identifier   "Monitor0"
    	VendorName   "NUL"
    	ModelName    "19''"
    	HorizSync    24.0 - 80.0
    	VertRefresh  50.0 - 75.0
    	Option	    "DPMS"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
            Option     "AGPMode"	"4"
    	Identifier  "Card0"
    	Driver      "radeon"
    	VendorName  "ATI Technologies Inc"
    	BoardName   "RV350 AS [Radeon 9550]"
    	BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier "Screen0"
    	Device     "Card0"
    	Monitor    "Monitor0"
    	DefaultDepth 24
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Viewport   0 0
    		Depth     1
    	EndSubSection
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Viewport   0 0
    		Depth     4
    	EndSubSection
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Viewport   0 0
    		Depth     8
    	EndSubSection
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Viewport   0 0
    		Depth     15
    	EndSubSection
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Viewport   0 0
    		Depth     16
    	EndSubSection
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Viewport   0 0
    		Depth     24
    		Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    	EndSubSection
    EndSection

  8. #98
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    343

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Exershio View Post
    I'm using a Radeon 9550 (R300) 256mb AGP 4x card with the open source ati drivers. Whenever I run a 3d intensive application, it'll render properly for a few seconds, then my screen goes black, my monitor loses signal, and my computer completely freezes. It takes no input from keyboard/mouse, audio starts stuttering and sounds like a buzzsaw, and I'm forced to shutdown with the power button.
    Did you try AGPMode 2 and 1?

  9. #99
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tormod View Post
    Did you try AGPMode 2 and 1?
    I'll be damned. I started up StepMania and played it for about 20 minutes with AGP Mode @ 1x and it didn't crash at all. With AGP Mode @ 4x, StepMania would crash within 2-3 minutes at most usually.

    I haven't tested it with any really heavy 3d apps because I don't have any installed atm, but I'll do that asap and report back tomorrow.

    Thanks for the tip. I hope it continues to work. This is the only problem holding me off Windows for good. If I can get Neverwinter Nights/StepMania/etc to play in Linux without crashing that'd be great.

  10. #100
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I moved to xf86-video-ati from xf86-video-radeonhd (gentoo), then I deleted xorg.conf, made X create a new one and added the EXA configuration to it.
    After that I did an emerge -e world and no more lockups.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •