Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I killed my fglrx driver and now only get 640x480 - Help!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I killed my fglrx driver and now only get 640x480 - Help!

I'm new to Linux and have been trying to get a Mythbuntu box working for about a month now. Backend records fine, but the frontend is useless because I can't get the graphics driver working properly for playback. My system:

Case : Antec Veris Fusion Black 430 (with the LCD, not VFD)
    Mobo : ASUS M3A78-EM (ATI Radeon HD3200 / 780G chipset)
    CPUs : AMD Athlon X2 4850e 2.5GHz
    RAM : GSKILL 2GB (2*1GB of DDR2 1066)
    HDD : WD6400AACS 640GB, SATA
    DVD : ASUS DRW-2014L1T, SATA
    Tuner: HDHomerun ATSC (both inputs from a DB2 antenna)
    TV : Samsung LN-S4095D 40" 1080p LCD HDTV (tried VGA and HDMI)
    LAN: DLink WDA-1320 (running on Atheros restricted driver)
    OS : Mythbuntu 8.04.1 64-bit (minimal changes to xorg.conf).

The best I've ever had it working was with the "stock" fglrx setup that results from installing from the CD and then letting Ubuntu update itself from the repository. Fglrxinfo showed:

display: :0.0 screen: 0
    OpenGL vendor string: ATI Technologies Inc.
    OpenGL renderer string: ATI Radeon HD 3200 Graphics
    OpenGL version string: 2.1.7412 Release

There were only two remaining problems with that setup -

* Color space was inverted. Skin tones were shades of blue and blue was orange. I read stuff on forums about recompiling MythTV with a hack to get round this, but the information was outdated so I didn't try it.

* Slight tearing of video on 1080i recordings, usually about 1/3 the way up the screen.