Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: 1.25GB Single channel vs 1GB Dual Channel 400MHz DDR1 RAM

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    29

    Default

    I just repeated my memtes86 of a sempron 3400+

    The reported speed results were identical when using a single stick of 2Gb DDR2 800 cas 5-5-5-18 or 2 sticks of DDR2 667 512Mb 4-4-4-11 !!!!

    CPU 2007Mhz (FSB223)
    L1 16447 MB/s
    L2 3919MB/s
    MEM 2306MB/s

    The same! Wow it's something with CPU? Maybe the reason faster mem doesnt usually show up is that the faster mem cant be used by most processors?

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,332

    Default

    Since AMD cpus have the ram controller built in, perhaps your Sempron only supports 667Mhz max? I couldn't find this info anywhere, AMD really needs a similar processor spec finder as intel.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    29

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by curaga View Post
    Since AMD cpus have the ram controller built in, perhaps your Sempron only supports 667Mhz max? I couldn't find this info anywhere, AMD really needs a similar processor spec finder as intel.
    That makes sense, it seems that there is some issue with the memory controller here. The boot screen reports that the memory is 64 bit on the single 2gb stick and 128bit on the dual 512Mb stick memory configuration. So there is something happening there but apparently not everything that needs to happen.

    I'm considering getting a new processor. There are some real cheap low power dual cores out there....

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    26

    Default

    I tried benchmarking memory when I got my Athlon64. Sure, dual channel boots faster and shows better memory benches, but real world (feel, non-memory benchmarks) it made no difference. With integrated memory controller, the only real factor is processor speed (which determines on chip cache speed).

    Until you run out of cache (or, yikes, have to swap).

    The Prescott with shared video ram is a whole different animal.

    As a guess, since you can get decent performance now, either of your upgrades would be better. I'd save up for a new mem/mobo/cpu and keep my eyes open for old machines to scavenge from.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    66

    Default

    Dual channel makes a *huge* difference only if have onboard graphics which uses system memory or a graphics card with a small amount of VRAM (i.e. 64MB).

    The difference gets bigger as you increase the resolution of the games/apps you use. If you have a 32MB,64MB or even a 128MB card, you can also increase the GART size in the BIOS to at least double the amount of your VRAM for even better performance at higher resolutions.

    Dual channel RAM will also improve performance and reduce latencies if you use audio production software like Cubase,Sonar,Rosegarden,Ardour,Reaper,etc.

    For everything else,there's no difference.
    Last edited by tuxdriver; 02-13-2009 at 01:56 PM.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    29

    Default

    I just replaced my Sempron 3400+ with an Athlon 5050e and repeated the 2 memory tests with bus speed set at 223Mhz

    using 2 sticks of 512M 533 ddr2 gives
    L1 23758MB/s
    L2 4425MB/s
    Mem 2516MB/s
    322Mhz DDR 644 4-4-4-11 DDR2 128bit

    one stick of 2GB 800 ddr2 gives
    L1 23757MB/s
    L2 4425MB/s
    Mem 2516MB/s
    322Mhz DDR 644 5-5-5-18 DDR2 64bit


    as before there is no apparent difference in payback of youtube between the two sets of memory but the change in CPU was a huge difference. This CP was $70 US at the egg.

    Almost exactly the same. but everything is faster than the 3400+ and it does really show up in playback of youtube.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •