Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 48

Thread: System Freeze on Switch user

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    51

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wintervenom View Post
    The solution at/near the end of this thread solved my problem, maybe they will help you guys, too. (http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=57084&p=3)
    Having trawled through a few pages of the thread you've linked to, and being none the wiser due to the large number of slightly differing issues mentioned along with solutions that may or may not work, it occurs to me that it would be easier if you just told us which particular problem/solution it is you are referring to?

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by duffster View Post
    Having trawled through a few pages of the thread you've linked to, and being none the wiser due to the large number of slightly differing issues mentioned along with solutions that may or may not work, it occurs to me that it would be easier if you just told us which particular problem/solution it is you are referring to?
    I hope this does not come across too negative. I have patiently tolerated the ATI problems in both my Thinkpads in the last 4 years.

    I am fortunate in that my Thinkpad has hybrid graphics in the form of an integrated Intel video card beside the HD3650. Since switching to the Intel card in the BIOS, I have not had a single crash, it can still play videos properly, do KDE4 effects without any hassle, albeit slower than the ATI card.

    I will switch back to ATI once they open-source their driver (perhaps never), since I do not think they have realised that driver stability is far more important than flashy features.

    Niel

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    365

    Default

    Not sure if this problem is described by a "known issue" added to the 9.2 release notes:
    X-Server may stop responding or shutdown when loading some Open GL
    applications on a secondary display
    Does "secondary display" refer to e.g. "startx -- :2" or to a multi-monitor setup?

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,385

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by niella View Post
    I will switch back to ATI once they open-source their driver (perhaps never), since I do not think they have realised that driver stability is far more important than flashy features.

    Niel
    niella, just wanted to make sure you knew that we had open source driver support for your 3650 already -- right now modesetting, EXA and Xv acceleration are running and mesa is being worked on now.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by duffster View Post
    Having trawled through a few pages of the thread you've linked to, and being none the wiser due to the large number of slightly differing issues mentioned along with solutions that may or may not work, it occurs to me that it would be easier if you just told us which particular problem/solution it is you are referring to?
    I tried the suggested solution in message 174 on page 7 in that thread. Didn't do any good at all...

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    niella, just wanted to make sure you knew that we had open source driver support for your 3650 already -- right now modesetting, EXA and Xv acceleration are running and mesa is being worked on now.
    Thanks for that bridgman, I didn't know... which driver is this? I have tried radeonhd, but its power consumption is very high 35W vs 12W using the Intel - when I logged a bug I was told the driver lacked any proper power management features.

    I'd rather patiently wait for this driver than any more waiting for changes in fglrx, since I get crashes in mplayer and on logout with the latter.

    Niel

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,385

    Default

    Both radeonhd and radeon have the acceleration support added, although I expect power consumption would be similar on the two drivers. Am I reading your numbers correctly in the sense that you are comparing the radeonhd/3650 combo with Intel, not with fglrx/3650 ?

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    Both radeonhd and radeon have the acceleration support added, although I expect power consumption would be similar on the two drivers. Am I reading your numbers correctly in the sense that you are comparing the radeonhd/3650 combo with Intel, not with fglrx/3650 ?
    Booting with the ATI card enabled and the Intel one disabled, my laptop (Lenovo W500 with hybrid graphics) will use 35W until I start X, at which point it comes down to an acceptable level of 15W or so (this is using fglrx). It does not make a difference if I load the fglrx driver before starting X, text mode always ends up with high power usage.

    If I use radeonhd (using either the opensuse provided version or the git branches for drm and xf86-video-radeonhd), power consumption always remain high @ 32-35W, whether in X or text console.

    If I boot with the Intel card, consumption is low (9-12W) whether in text console or X.

    Niel

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    27

    Default

    New driver (fglrx 9.3), same problem (total freeze on user switch). And no mention of this in the "Known issues" section of the Release notes?!
    As soon as I have the money, I'll switch to Nvidia...

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,776

    Default

    Same here. I don't remember this feature actually ever working for me with any Catalyst release.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •