Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
Results 41 to 48 of 48

Thread: ATI Catalyst 8.10 Driver

  1. #41
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,615

    Default

    Well you can try:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Magic_SysRq_key

    in that case.

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,725

    Default

    oh realy? a conception flaw?
    read up on modules. They can do all and everything. After that you might be able to help people to make it better.

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Die trolls, die!
    Posts
    525

    Default

    The 8.10 version still crashes Softimage XSI. Even selecting points can lead to an error:
    http://vimeo.com/2034870
    http://vimeo.com/2034885

    I hope they'll fix that! Its a pain to work like this. Very old driver worked fine but they won't support a newer kernel so I can't get back to them without changing kernels!

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Anyone who is still having problems with a crash with the new xorg, insure backing store is disabled, it seems to be broken in the new xorg version. (at least I'm quite sure it worked fine with catalyst 8.10 and the 7.3 xorg /1.4 xserver.)

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    87

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by energyman View Post
    oh realy? a conception flaw?
    read up on modules. They can do all and everything. After that you might be able to help people to make it better.
    oh really ?
    anyone have a possibility to improve fglrx here ?

    let me know when this happens lol

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,725

    Default

    see, the problem is that a module can do whatever it wants. If you want to be save from module misdeeds, either don't use them more contribute patches for a module infrastructure where modules can't do anything wrong.

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    /dev/hell
    Posts
    297

    Default

    uh! strange bug here!

    it's related to randr 1.2

    if after launching xorg i run xrandr, i can see some less resolutions than with previous drivers but everything is quite fine:

    Code:
    ben@Santa^s_lil^_helper ~ $ xrandr 
    Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1280 x 800, maximum 1280 x 1280
    LCD connected 1280x800+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 331mm x 207mm
       1280x800       60.0*+
       1024x768       60.0  
       720x480        60.0  
       512x384        60.0  
       400x300        60.0  
       320x240        60.0  
    DFP1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    CRT1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    TV disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    re running it, it gives the same output.

    if I then run amdcccle, it shows me every resolution i was used to be able to select....
    but now if I run xrandr again.....

    Code:
    ben@Santa^s_lil^_helper ~ $ xrandr 
    Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1280 x 800, maximum 1280 x 1280
    LCD connected 1280x800+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 331mm x 207mm
       320x240        60.0  
       320x200        60.0  
    DFP1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    CRT1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    TV disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
      1280x800 (0x8d)   71.1MHz
            h: width  1280 start 1328 end 1360 total 1440 skew    0 clock   49.4KHz
            v: height  800 start  803 end  809 total  823           clock   60.0Hz
    it shows this mess.... and now amdcccle doesn't show right resolutions anymore. (just leaves the 320x240 choice).

    so i think it's an amdcccle related issue, since xrandr didn't bring that after I launched it.

    sorry if I reported it just now, but I didn't play much with the new driver this month.
    Bridgman, do you think there will be time to fix this bug in the next release?

  8. #48
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    8

    Default fglrx and debian kernel

    I apologize in advance if this has already been answered.I have been following the progress of the ATI fglrx driver for some time now,upgrading every month to the newest driver (with the exception of 8.10).

    I am running Debian (Sid) and I am getting pretty tired of the well known bug where you can't load the fglrx driver on a vanilla debian kernel due to the lack of the export flush_tlb line in the kernel source.I have to recompile every time there is a newer kernel source and I am sick of it.

    My question is if there is a workaround on this by patching the driver and not the kernel.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •