Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23

Thread: Phoronix Test Suite Brings Benchmarking To Mac OS X

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    The Basement
    Posts
    8

    Default

    You must change to the directory you extracted the test suite to and then run it from that folder i.e. from terminal it would look something like this:

    Code:
    phoronix-test-suite Chilly$ ./phoronix-test-suite benchmark darwin
    to begin the benchmark.

    Just a few questions. Nexuiz runs poorly and I'm getting only 20fps average and I think I know why, because OpenGL 2.0 is disabled when the benchmark runs. Is setting OpenGL 2.0 against the Phoronix suite rules? if not how do I turn it on when my benchmark runs.

    TIA.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,583

    Default

    Looking at your results on line, your macpro is using OGL 2.0. I'm not quite sure as how you figure OGL is "disabling".

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    The Basement
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by deanjo View Post
    Looking at your results on line, your macpro is using OGL 2.0. I'm not quite sure as how you figure OGL is "disabling".
    Probably should have been more specific, the OpenGL 2.0 Shaders (GLSL) provide a dramatic improvement during the benchmark. During the benchmark I hit the esc button, navigate to video, turn this option on and see a night/day improvement (from 20fps to around 100fps+). BTW UrbanTerror is running fine and so is X-Plane.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    The Basement
    Posts
    8

    Default

    I think I answered my own question lol.

    http://www.alientrap.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3090

    AlienTrap has a heads up for Nexuiz on OS X about the OpenGL 2.0 Shaders not being saved when enabled by the user.

  5. #15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Exman View Post
    Thanx for that. Sorry, another noob question. Is this benchmark supposed to be run from Terminal as well?

    The installation went o.k, when I doubled clicked on "Phoronix-test-suite", Terminal returned this message:
    To run the Phoronix Test Suite locally you must first change directories to phoronix-test-suite/ or install the program using the install-sh script. For support visit: http://www.phoronix-test-suite.com/


    What's my next step?
    Yes you run from terminal.

    Just launch terminal, cd to the directory of phoronix-test-suite, and then run say ./phoronix-test-suite benchmark darwin.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    The Basement
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Well I ran the darwin suite, definitely some interesting results:
    benchie

    Get plenty of errors so when I get the time I'll go through each test individually to see whats happening, but for now build-php always fails
    no matter what :P.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    O.K I ran the bench suite, but is it normal for it to want to download all the software such as nexuiz-242.zip (375MN), UrbanTerror_41_FULL.zip (720MB) etc?

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    The Basement
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Yes, it needs those files for the OpenGL benchmarks i.e. test your graphics card.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    O.K, thanx, now I know I'm on the righ track

    It will take me long time to download all the packages. My ISP has throttled my net speed down to a wee bit faster than 56K dialup

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    The Basement
    Posts
    8

    Default

    For the X-Plane bench is the plane supposed to just sit on the runway with a -PAUSED- sign flashing lol? or does it take off???

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •