Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 39

Thread: Memory on graphics card

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    33

    Default

    OK, I got F11 which was released couple of days ago. It still says in dmesg that the accessible memory on card is 256MB.

    I assume there is still some work to be done?

    Would this fix the issue?

    http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?pag...item&px=NzMxOA

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,327

    Default

    The logic for dealing with non-CPU accessible memory still needs to be added. It's on the todo list.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Richland, WA
    Posts
    134

    Default

    LIM EMS lives again!!!!!

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,577

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by agd5f View Post
    The logic for dealing with non-CPU accessible memory still needs to be added. It's on the todo list.
    Hmm, does it happen often then that you have to access the memory directly with CPU instead of being able to deal with stuff through GPU? Got an example use case for the interested reader?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Richland, WA
    Posts
    134

    Default

    I have a case that I have actually used once. I used the video mem as a swap file to speed up an 8GB process in a machine that had just 2GB of RAM. That used Vesa bios calls I believe though.

    http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/Using...Memory_as_Swap

    it was marginally faster

    In the future with OpenCL fast access to all video card ram will become more important.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,327

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nanonyme View Post
    Hmm, does it happen often then that you have to access the memory directly with CPU instead of being able to deal with stuff through GPU? Got an example use case for the interested reader?
    Any time you want to use the CPU to read or write to something in vram; for example software rendering for unsupported operations.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by agd5f View Post
    Any time you want to use the CPU to read or write to something in vram; for example software rendering for unsupported operations.
    But for normal usage, say for playing hardware-accelerated 3D games or desktop work etc., the graphics card does use all its available memory, right? For both the open-source drivers and Catalyst?

    I've got a 512MB X1950 Pro (R500) and in a couple of days a 512MB HD 4550 (R700) will arrive. These are for normal desktop usage; no software-only stuff. I'm not limited to 256MB video RAM for these cards, am I? Doesn't the GPU use all available graphics memory unless you're trying to do something clever like any of the aforementioned scenarios?

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,327

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nightmorph View Post
    But for normal usage, say for playing hardware-accelerated 3D games or desktop work etc., the graphics card does use all its available memory, right? For both the open-source drivers and Catalyst?
    Catalyst yes, open source not yet. The kernel memory manager work that's going on now is needed to address this.

    Quote Originally Posted by nightmorph View Post
    I've got a 512MB X1950 Pro (R500) and in a couple of days a 512MB HD 4550 (R700) will arrive. These are for normal desktop usage; no software-only stuff. I'm not limited to 256MB video RAM for these cards, am I? Doesn't the GPU use all available graphics memory unless you're trying to do something clever like any of the aforementioned scenarios?
    Lots of things are drawn with software under normal desktop usage.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Exodus hair
    Posts
    76

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nightmorph View Post
    But for normal usage, say for playing hardware-accelerated 3D games or desktop work etc., the graphics card does use all its available memory, right? For both the open-source drivers and Catalyst?

    I've got a 512MB X1950 Pro (R500) and in a couple of days a 512MB HD 4550 (R700) will arrive. These are for normal desktop usage; no software-only stuff. I'm not limited to 256MB video RAM for these cards, am I? Doesn't the GPU use all available graphics memory unless you're trying to do something clever like any of the aforementioned scenarios?
    On my ATI HD 3650 I get (Xorg.0.log):
    Code:
    (II) RADEON(0): Detected total video RAM=524288K, accessible=262144K (PCI BAR=262144K)
    (--) RADEON(0): Mapped VideoRAM: 262144 kByte (128 bit DDR SDRAM)

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by agd5f View Post
    Catalyst yes, open source not yet. The kernel memory manager work that's going on now is needed to address this.
    Hmm. Well, the work has been progressing rather rapidly; my understanding is that there's a branch or two of GEM/TTM-like stuff now available for checkout, though it's not stable. Besides, for normal 2D usage, including browsing, documents, watching videos, it's not like the full 512MB of the card would be needed.

    I've no doubt that sometime soonish we'll have a memory manager that enables the rest of the video RAM. All ya'll upstream folks have been making fantastic progress. Thanks!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •