Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Libinput Is Great & Improves Linux Input Handling

Phoronix: Libinput Is Great & Improves Linux Input Handling

With Weston 1.6 release the libinput library is now used by default for handling input. Linux input expert Peter Hutterer at Red Hat has written a lengthy blog post to explain the need for libinput and how it's improving device input on Linux...

Phoronix, Linux Hardware Reviews, Linux hardware benchmarks, Linux server benchmarks, Linux benchmarking, Desktop Linux, Linux performance, Open Source graphics, Linux How To, Ubuntu benchmarks, Ubuntu hardware, Phoronix Test Suite

I've been working with libinput since three months ago, and it is quite clean and well-designed. Documentation is ok, but many code examples are using outdated versions of the library (so be careful with that.)

In general I like it. It's much simpler to use than the Mac OS X IOKit, but it's still somewhat more complicated than windows RawInput. Unfortunately, regular users cannot use libinput by default, so it's uses are quite limited in practice.

Comment

Originally posted by BlackStar View Post
      I've been working with libinput since three months ago, and it is quite clean and well-designed. Documentation is ok, but many code examples are using outdated versions of the library (so be careful with that.)

In general I like it. It's much simpler to use than the Mac OS X IOKit, but it's still somewhat more complicated than windows RawInput. Unfortunately, regular users cannot use libinput by default, so it's uses are quite limited in practice.
      I see that you are famarilar with the MacOX and Windows input stack, how do they compare to the Android input stack?

(Please no anti-google, anti-canonical rant, I would love a professional opinion, if you have experience with it as well)

Comment

Originally posted by dh04000 View Post