Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: The Witcher 2 Ups The Performance More & Works Around Catalyst Bug

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15,390

    Default The Witcher 2 Ups The Performance More & Works Around Catalyst Bug

    Phoronix: The Witcher 2 Ups The Performance More & Works Around Catalyst Bug

    Just over three months after the release of the troubled Witcher 2 Linux port, it seems The Witcher 2's performance is finally getting into decent shape after numerous optimizations and bug-fixes...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTc3ODk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    258

    Default

    Why isn't TW2 for Linux available on gog.com yet? You would expect that to be the first one to have it...
    I love CDProjekt, and I own all their games, but I won't buy TW2 again on Steam just to play it on Linux.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    MA, USA
    Posts
    1,440

    Default

    So, I was curious to see what the benchmarks of game in Windows and I was surprised to see how poorly it performed, even with ubersampling off. Seems to me the game is just poorly coded. Considering in Windows I would only get roughly 30FPS with medium-low settings at 1080p with a single HD5750, I'm not sure I should ever bother to attempt to play this game in linux as long as the open source drivers don't support crossfire.

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by r1348 View Post
    Why isn't TW2 for Linux available on gog.com yet? You would expect that to be the first one to have it...
    I love CDProjekt, and I own all their games, but I won't buy TW2 again on Steam just to play it on Linux.
    Someone asked that in the thread for their "We couldn't wait until fall. Here are 50 of the 100+ Linux games we promised right now" announcement.

    The response was that it'll be available on GOG once it reaches a level of quality that wouldn't reflect badly on GOG for carrying it. (As opposed to an early access level of quality)

  5. #5

    Default

    Do you know if a box version of TW2 can be activated on Steam to get it on Linux (and therefore on Windows, through Steam) ? Because I don't see a "linux installer" that could unpack the binaries, and fetch the game data from the DVD...

    How, and don't talk "gog" to me, I'm french, and there's really no french support for the games sold there.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Porto
    Posts
    264

    Default ???

    the game devs correct the bug in fglrx!!!??? when fglrx devs can't do a job...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    706

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rikkinho View Post
    the game devs correct the bug in fglrx!!!???
    No they only don't use the bugged extension

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    101

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rikkinho View Post
    the game devs correct the bug in fglrx!!!??? when fglrx devs can't do a job...
    The game is now detecting the Catalyst driver and disabling usage of this extension
    It's not a fix, is a slap in the face to AMD drivers like when firefox Blacklisted Direct2D for Catalyst 14.4, it seems that the only way to make things works with amd drivers sometimes is disabling stuff and waiting in hopes amd eventually fixes the issue.

    I hope they do a better job whit the forthcoming Opengl next.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    53

    Default

    The recommended requirements say MESA drivers are not "currently" supported, does that mean once MESA drivers catch up in the needed extensions CD Projekt will add them as supported?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    84

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by schmidtbag View Post
    So, I was curious to see what the benchmarks of game in Windows and I was surprised to see how poorly it performed, even with ubersampling off. Seems to me the game is just poorly coded. Considering in Windows I would only get roughly 30FPS with medium-low settings at 1080p with a single HD5750, I'm not sure I should ever bother to attempt to play this game in linux as long as the open source drivers don't support crossfire.
    With a GPU like that I'm not surprised you can only fluidly run the game at 30fps. This game is very graphical, especially on high settings it performs quite reasonable for it's heavy graphics.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •