Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31

Thread: The Witcher 2 Should Now Be Offering Faster Performance

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,816

    Default The Witcher 2 Should Now Be Offering Faster Performance

    Phoronix: The Witcher 2 Should Now Be Offering Faster Performance

    The Witcher 2 was released for Linux earlier this year but the quality of the initial Linux port was very troubling. Since then, the developers have been working to improve the Linux version of The Witcher 2 ahead of The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTc2MDY

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    78

    Default

    The game is now finally a bit playable with my i5-4570 and 650 TI on high graphics at 1080p. But on my setup running Windows it would work at 30+ fps at Ultra graphics, so it's still not exactly optimal.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Porto
    Posts
    219

    Default never will be

    Quote Originally Posted by clementl View Post
    The game is now finally a bit playable with my i5-4570 and 650 TI on high graphics at 1080p. But on my setup running Windows it would work at 30+ fps at Ultra graphics, so it's still not exactly optimal.

    never will be but at least we can play now

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    30

    Default

    Still needs work. Lots of it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    104

    Default

    So it sounds like we're slowly moving from The Witcher 2 port being a plane wreck to being a train wreck. Maybe I'll consider it playable if it ever moves up to being a car wreck.

    I'll give this a shot when I get home today and see how it's improved. I've tried the beta before and performance was still awful with a 4960x and a GTX 780. Definitely feels laggy... but it sounds like this update may at least fix THAT problem.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    MA, USA
    Posts
    1,309

    Default

    As long as I know they're continuously working on it, I'll hold of playing it. I have it installed in Windows right now (it wouldn't even run for me in linux) but I haven't played it yet.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    345

    Default

    May be they can optionally use some of the new OpenGL 4.5 features to improve it further for hardware / drivers which support them.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Torrington, Ct. USA
    Posts
    168

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hiryu View Post
    So it sounds like we're slowly moving from The Witcher 2 port being a plane wreck to being a train wreck. Maybe I'll consider it playable if it ever moves up to being a car wreck.

    I'll give this a shot when I get home today and see how it's improved. I've tried the beta before and performance was still awful with a 4960x and a GTX 780. Definitely feels laggy... but it sounds like this update may at least fix THAT problem.
    I'm surprised you had poor performance with that setup. My setup is fairly similar, I have a E3 1231v3, which is basically a i7-4770 minus the IGP, and a 780Ti and I played the game all the way through at 2560x1440 with no problems, all settings maxed, except Ubersampling off, Motion Blur off (not for performance reasons, I just hate Motion Blur), and Texture Memory Size set to Medium (because of what I suspect is a memory leak, hopefully fixed now), and this was before any of the beta patches when, I presume, performance was at its worst. I just fired the game up and turned on Ubersampling just for kicks (plus set Texture Memory Size to very large and left Motion Blur off because yuck). I was surprised to find the game was playable even with Ubersampling on. It wasn't perfectly smooth, but it was definitely playable. I didn't think even my 780Ti could handle Ubersampling at 2560x1440, even on Windows (I don't have Windows on this machine so I can't test that theory), since, as I understand it, Ubersampling means everything in every frame is rendered multiple times, and that's quite a workload at 2560x1440. My best guess is that the framerate with Ubersampling on was somewhere in the 20s, even with many many characters on the screen (the busiest part of Loc Muine). Without Ubersampling the game runs buttery smooth for me. Now this recent test was very short and I can only guess the FPS I was getting. Is there some kind of Linux program I can use that will either display or record what FPS I am getting in the game (or some kind of switch to the game's binary)?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)
    Posts
    638

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sirdilznik View Post
    I'm surprised you had poor performance with that setup. My setup is fairly similar, I have a E3 1231v3, which is basically a i7-4770 minus the IGP, and a 780Ti and I played the game all the way through at 2560x1440 with no problems, all settings maxed, except Ubersampling off, Motion Blur off (not for performance reasons, I just hate Motion Blur), and Texture Memory Size set to Medium (because of what I suspect is a memory leak, hopefully fixed now), and this was before any of the beta patches when, I presume, performance was at its worst. I just fired the game up and turned on Ubersampling just for kicks (plus set Texture Memory Size to very large and left Motion Blur off because yuck). I was surprised to find the game was playable even with Ubersampling on. It wasn't perfectly smooth, but it was definitely playable. I didn't think even my 780Ti could handle Ubersampling at 2560x1440, even on Windows (I don't have Windows on this machine so I can't test that theory), since, as I understand it, Ubersampling means everything in every frame is rendered multiple times, and that's quite a workload at 2560x1440. My best guess is that the framerate with Ubersampling on was somewhere in the 20s, even with many many characters on the screen (the busiest part of Loc Muine). Without Ubersampling the game runs buttery smooth for me. Now this recent test was very short and I can only guess the FPS I was getting. Is there some kind of Linux program I can use that will either display or record what FPS I am getting in the game (or some kind of switch to the game's binary)?
    https://github.com/ValveSoftware/voglperf

    vogl ?


    The Witcher 2 also worked quite well with latest nvidia drivers here & an E3-1245 v3, GTX 760 Phantom, kernel 3.16, BFS, BFQ, 1920x1080,

    there was some mouse lag & large general lag

    the general lag mostly vanished with Motion Blur disabled,

    I'll give UberSampling a try & see whether Texture Memory Size Medium makes a differences


    crashes mostly happen during shopping, when the character doesn't move fast enough and you'll keep on pressing the button in that direction it was moving towards

    sometimes it's crashing almost instantly after having started up and re-loaded, sometimes in some areas

    but mostly it seems to be stable - these crashes are probably mostly due to that compatibility layer




    haven't had any larger AAA games on Linux so far, besides Metro: Last Light which meanwhile seems rocksolid (beginning to mid-section) on Nvidia, and with Catalyst drivers (had an R9 270X for a short time)

    but towards the end (Polis) it crashed always (Nvidia), couldn't get forward [this was on my old box]

    the quality of the ports or emulation layers have to improve considerably otherwise there always will be worse stability than on windows



    Anyway: I'm confident that CD Projekt RED will do their best to make this a great port or at least "platform transfer"

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    757

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sirdilznik View Post
    Is there some kind of Linux program I can use that will either display or record what FPS I am getting in the game (or some kind of switch to the game's binary)?
    It's easiest to use voglperf from Valve.

    https://github.com/ValveSoftware/voglperf

    I just run voglperfrun64. It creates a local webserver. Open browser "http://127.0.0.1:8081". In the webconsole type "fpsshow on" "game start 20920". Done.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •