Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Qt 5.4 Is Now Under A Feature Freeze

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15,652

    Default Qt 5.4 Is Now Under A Feature Freeze

    Phoronix: Qt 5.4 Is Now Under A Feature Freeze

    Iikka Eklund of Digia has announced that Qt 5.4 is under its feature freeze state after several months of development...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTc1ODk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,801

    Default

    Qt 5 still has broken font rendering under Linux, after all this time. And nobody at Qt cares.

    After Digia got hold of it, Linux support isn't very important anymore.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    208

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
    Qt 5 still has broken font rendering under Linux, after all this time. And nobody at Qt cares.

    After Digia got hold of it, Linux support isn't very important anymore.
    I use Qt5 on linux every day, and have not had any issues with font rendering. I run into a few on Qt4, but those are only triggered by some broken webfonts loaded by qtwebkit.

    Btw, if anything Linux support still has a way better support than it should have considering the paying customers are mostly on Windows, but almost all Qt developers at Digia use Linux as their development platform, and with QtCreator now using Qt5, that means most Qt developers are now using Qt5 on Linux every day.
    Last edited by carewolf; 08-10-2014 at 11:27 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    MA, USA
    Posts
    1,485

    Default

    I too frequently use and develop with Qt5 and I don't get font rendering issues. But, I also don't do anything that special with them.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,801

    Default

    All fonts are broken. Both TrueType and OpenType:

    https://bugreports.qt-project.org/browse/QTBUG-37749

    as well as PCF:

    https://bugreports.qt-project.org/browse/QTBUG-28739

    To get TT/OT breakage, I suspect that you need to be using slight hinting instead of full hinting.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    141

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
    To get TT/OT breakage, I suspect that you need to be using slight hinting instead of full hinting.
    Yes, and that's what you were told in the bug report: slight hinting only will hint vertical which is not intended for GUI. Just enable full hinting will most likely fix your issue.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    70

    Default

    QT3D?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    208

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by schmalzler View Post
    Yes, and that's what you were told in the bug report: slight hinting only will hint vertical which is not intended for GUI. Just enable full hinting will most likely fix your issue.
    Slight an no-hinting should work. It is Mac style hinting and a lot of people use it, it is also used when rendering to scalable canvases such as OpenGL. Then again I am using that, and have not seen any issue before, so saying it is completely broken for truetype and opentype is nonsense. Though ofcourse it is more blurry, that is the whole point, with weaker hinting fonts are more design precise and less pixel precise.
    Last edited by carewolf; 08-10-2014 at 06:32 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,801

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by schmalzler View Post
    Yes, and that's what you were told in the bug report: slight hinting only will hint vertical which is not intended for GUI. Just enable full hinting will most likely fix your issue.
    I don't want full hinting. Fonts look bad with it. Qt 5 is broken. Freetype renders slight hinted fonts just fine, and therefore Qt 5 should also render them fine. Since it doesn't, there's somethings wrong with how it uses Freetype.

    Every other app on my system works correctly. Qt 4, Gtk, Chrome, everyhing. Except Qt 5 and Java. Those two produce an abomination of a font rendering.

    And this doesn't even excuse the PCF rendering problem, which was reported since day one when Qt 5.0.0 came out. Wanna bet how quickly they would have fixed those problems if they affected the Windows version? We all hated Nokia, but boy, Digia doesn't lift a finger when it comes to Linux.
    Last edited by RealNC; 08-10-2014 at 11:51 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1,310

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
    We all hated Nokia, but boy, Digia doesn't lift a finger when it comes to Linux.
    That must be why they waited so long to support Wayland in Qt 5. Oh wait...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •