Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Plasma Active Continues Coming For Qt5/KF5

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15,624

    Default Plasma Active Continues Coming For Qt5/KF5

    Phoronix: Plasma Active Continues Coming For Qt5/KF5

    Being done as part of a Google Summer of Code project this year is porting KDE's Plasma Active to their newer technology stack...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTc0NTA

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    2,193

    Default Usability nightmare

    KDE is hampered by stupid default settings and horrible usability.

    It overwhelms you by presenting every imaginable feature under the sun in every menu, context menu, and toolbar.

    The launcher takes way too many clicks to get things done.

    The theme lacks paddings and margins around buttons.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    204

    Default

    wow such rage

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,322

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by uid313 View Post
    blah blah blah
    Have you ever actually used Plasma Active, or did you just see 'KDE' and launch straight into your KDE rant? http://www.phoronix.com/forums/showt...224#post429224

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    2,193

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DanL View Post
    Have you ever actually used Plasma Active, or did you just see 'KDE' and launch straight into your KDE rant? http://www.phoronix.com/forums/showt...224#post429224
    Plasma or without, whole KDE is a big mess.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3,241

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by uid313 View Post
    Plasma or without, whole KDE is a big mess.
    So that's a NO.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    280

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by uid313 View Post
    Plasma or without, whole KDE is a big mess.
    Good, start coding and make the KDE experience better!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    164

    Default

    I hope we see more distros packaging this in the future (or dedicated distros), i would like to try it but the current image in their page is of kubuntu 13.04

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    108

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Artemis3 View Post
    I hope we see more distros packaging this in the future (or dedicated distros), i would like to try it but the current image in their page is of kubuntu 13.04
    I'm quite confidend that more distros will package it. It's much easier now with the shell switching. With the previous version it was not intended to be co-installable (e.g. KWin needed to be compiled with different flags) and that made it rather difficult for distros.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    283

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Artemis3 View Post
    I hope we see more distros packaging this in the future (or dedicated distros), i would like to try it but the current image in their page is of kubuntu 13.04
    Install Kubuntu ( http://www.kubuntu.org/news/kubuntu-14.04 ) and add one if these PPAs to your sources.list ?
    https://launchpad.net/~neon/+archive...napshot-weekly
    https://launchpad.net/~neon/+archive...snapshot-daily
    https://launchpad.net/~neon/+archive/ubuntu/kf5

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •