Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678
Results 71 to 78 of 78

Thread: AMD Radeon VDPAU Video Performance With Gallium3D

  1. #71
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    352

    Default Power usage

    Hope nobody minds if I go a bit on topic on this old thread, but I think the article missed the essential about decode offloading. Lowering the CPU usage is a nice side-effect, but not the goal itself. The real deal with decode offload is being more power efficient. So how much power you save by using VDPAU? Here is a benchmark that will answer just that: http://openbenchmarking.org/result/1...SO-U2708169054

    A little sumary:
    - idle ~12W
    - GL/XV ~18W (6W more than idle)
    - VDPAU ~15W (3W more than idle)

    So it looks like UVD uses about half the power compared to the CPU for decoding the Phoronix sample on the E-450 APU.

  2. #72
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,366

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ansla View Post
    Hope nobody minds if I go a bit on topic on this old thread...
    It is not that old, just one week .

    little sumary:
    - idle ~12W
    - GL/XV ~18W (6W more than idle)
    - VDPAU ~15W (3W more than idle)

    So it looks like UVD uses about half the power compared to the CPU for decoding the Phoronix sample on the E-450 APU.
    Yes that was for this sample, but if you use another sample:

    http://www.phoronix.com/forums/showt...643#post426643

    Which is more CPU resource hungry, VDPAU will stay on his 3W, so for that one playing with Xv/GL i guess will consume 12W... end result would be 4 times more power consumpation .

    edit: actually you can't play that 60 fps sample with Xv/GL on E-450, could you? But with vdpau you can ?
    Last edited by dungeon; 07-04-2014 at 07:35 PM.

  3. #73
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    352

    Default

    According to vdpauinfo it's only capable of decoding H264 up to level 4.1 and 1920x1080@60 is level 4.2 so it might not be able to offload it at all, I'll give it a try anyway

  4. #74
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,366

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ansla View Post
    According to vdpauinfo it's only capable of decoding H264 up to level 4.1 and 1920x1080@60 is level 4.2 so it might not be able to offload it at all, I'll give it a try anyway
    Try it here on Athlon 5350 vdpauinfo says 4.1 too, but it offload this High@L4.2 fine

  5. #75
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    352

    Default

    I did try it, it complains my system is too slow to play it. I get the same on my desktop, an A10-7850K when using VDPAU, even though with XV it plains fine. Do yo use any special options? Other video player maybe?

    Just to be sure we talk about the same thing, I can use VDPAU to play the file, but the vieo is decoded at 30fps so it will appear in slowmotion and the audio gets out of sync.

  6. #76
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,366

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ansla View Post
    I did try it, it complains my system is too slow to play it. I get the same on my desktop, an A10-7850K when using VDPAU, even though with XV it plains fine. Do yo use any special options? Other video player maybe?

    Just to be sure we talk about the same thing, I can use VDPAU to play the file, but the vieo is decoded at 30fps so it will appear in slowmotion and the audio gets out of sync.
    Here plays perfect, i use mpv:

    Code:
    mpv --hwdec=vdpau --vo=vdpau file
    or

    Code:
    mpv --hwdec=vdpau --vo=opengl file


    CPU stays at 3% with both vo options . This is on recent stuff.... kernel 3.16-rc3, xserver 1.16-rc3, mesa 10.3 git... .

  7. #77
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,366

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dungeon View Post
    This is on recent stuff.... kernel 3.16-rc3, xserver 1.16-rc3, mesa 10.3 git... .
    And llvm 3.5-svn of course so radeonsi never runs better .

    Just tried it works fine with default stack in Debian Sid too currently that is: kernel 3.14.9, xserver 1.15.1 (libglamor self compiled ), mesa 10.2.2, llvm 3.4.2 and mpv 0.4.0 (libav 10.2) .

  8. #78
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    93

    Default

    i'm having no luck with radeonsi and vdpau for 4k

    VO: [vdpau] 4096x2304 => 4096x2304 Planar YV12
    [vdpau] Error when calling vdp_video_mixer_create: An invalid/unsupported value was supplied. This is a catch-all error code for values of type other than those with a specific error code.
    FATAL: Cannot initialize video driver.
    Movie-Aspect is undefined - no prescaling applied.

    for 1080p can't you just use the cpu?

    with i7-4770 it's unable to keep up with 4k using mplayer on cpu
    Last edited by mercutio; 10-25-2014 at 03:15 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •