Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Radeon X.Org 7.4.0 Driver Brings More Tiling, R300/R500 GLAMOR

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,822

    Default Radeon X.Org 7.4.0 Driver Brings More Tiling, R300/R500 GLAMOR

    Phoronix: Radeon X.Org 7.4.0 Driver Brings More Tiling, R300/R500 GLAMOR

    A stable update to the xf86-video-ati "Radeon" X.Org driver was released on Wednesday...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTczMDA

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    391

    Default

    Does R600 have tiling enabled by default?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,277

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dukenukemx View Post
    Does R600 have tiling enabled by default?
    http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?pag...tem&px=MTIyMDA

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    85

    Default

    AFAIR R300/R500 has a dedicated 2D engine. Won't the switch to Glamor slow down things?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    85

    Default

    I would request some benchmarks on this.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    942

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mat2 View Post
    AFAIR R300/R500 has a dedicated 2D engine. Won't the switch to Glamor slow down things?
    I can't be sure that glamor which is now part of xserver 1.16 remain fully compatibile with r300/r500 . Support for r300/r500 is added for glamor lib, but as i see there are raised requirements now for xserver glamor when compared with glamor lib (i don't think r300 works correctly even with glamor lib). So someone need to test is that even work in xserver 1.16 for these chips : rolleyes:

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,371

    Default

    glamor is not enabled by default for any asics other than SI and newer. The changes mentioned for r3xx-r5xx just allow you to force glamor on via xorg.conf option for users that want to play with it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,458

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mat2 View Post
    AFAIR R300/R500 has a dedicated 2D engine. Won't the switch to Glamor slow down things?
    Doesn't radeon default to EXA (running on the 3D engine) for 3xx-5xx these days anyways ?

    My recollection was that XAA used the 2D engine quite a bit but EXA did not...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    942

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    My recollection was that XAA used the 2D engine quite a bit but EXA did not...
    XAA was more accelerated then EXA and fine these days but was not composition friendly, so we get EXA for replacement which is composite friendly but with more non accelerated paths (fallbacks) .

    Yep i remember XAA being faster in gtkperf then EXA .

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,371

    Default

    It's not that the 2D engine is faster or that XAA or EXA accelerates more stuff. 2D and 3D engines have different capabilities. 2D engines can can basically do 3 things:
    1. blit (move rectangles from one place to another)
    2. fill (draw a filled rectangle)
    3. lines

    2D engines can't do coordinate transforms (scaling or rotation), alpha-blending, etc. so those operations require the 3D engine.

    Core X and render were deisgned prior to GPU acceleration so a lot of ops map really poorly to modern hardware. Even today, pure software rendering is still faster than hw in many cases.

    XAA only attempted to accelerate core X rendering. Additionally offscreen image support broken probably 6 or 7 years ago, so XAA only accelerated on screen images which means that for the most part, XAA almost always uses software rendering. Additionally, XAA was generally only exposed on older asics that had limited 3D engines, no support for tiled buffers, etc. Software fallbacks were relatively cheap on those cards for onscreen stuff and all offscreen buffers were rendered with software to begin with.

    EXA took the most commonly used core X operations (blits and fills) and added limited support for also accelerating render (coordinate transforms, alpha blending, etc.).

    For EXA, we use the 2D engine for blits and fills if the hw has it. For everything else, we use the 3D engine.

    glamor accelerates core X and render using OpenGL.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •