Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 78

Thread: Skype 4.3 For Linux Released With Updated UI

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    840

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KellyClowers View Post
    LOL at the crybabies crying about PA.

    Your tears are delicious.
    lol. my thoughts exactly.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    41

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kostas View Post
    Any screenshots of his new UI? I wonder if we left 2006 to be stuck with something from 2009.
    Not really anything new, they just changed 2-3 buttons.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    358

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KellyClowers View Post
    LOL at the crybabies crying about PA.
    Your tears are delicious.
    It's sad that Linux distros are full of shit.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    5

    Default Yes but Pulse audio interact badly with Jack audio

    Quote Originally Posted by ssokolow View Post
    Dropped ALSA? I guess I'll continue my policy of sticking with the 2.2 beta while I figure out what about my router config breaks WebRTC. (ALSA support in existing 4.x versions was already broken on my Ubuntu with PA removed.)



    Given that recent versions are supposed to implement some really good echo cancellation and that it'd let me redirect an app's output over the LAN after saying "Hey, listen to this!", I'd love to use PulseAudio but, every time I've tried leaving the distro-provided PulseAudio intact, I've encountered a showstopping bug.

    (The last one was when PulseAudio would get stuck consuming 100% of one CPU core when I used Wine, requiring me to `killall` PulseAudio to recover from it.)

    I run pure ALSA because asoundrc is too fragile and I got tired of fighting ALSA configuration bugs I introduced in the process of setting up a "pulse on top of dmix" stack where PulseAudio is only used by apps that have no other choice.
    Mi to, I run pure alsa without a problem and because pulseaudio interact badly with Jack audio server on my Opensuse 13.1.
    No way to run Ardour with an Real Time audio without Jack

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    342

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JS987 View Post
    It's sad that Linux distros are full of shit.
    We know ALSA is shit, that's why people tried to put a bandaid on it, i.e. PulseAudio. PulseAudio isn't perfect, but ALSA is the real villian.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    107

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by schmidtbag View Post
    For those of us who care about efficiency, latency, and/or only use a single-wire (stereo or SPDIF) system, PA isn't appealing. Yes, it is MUCH easier to use and undoubtedly powerful, but it still has a lot of work to be done.

    I think it's weird that they'd go out of their way to remove ALSA support. I think it'd be easier to just leave it in there.
    That's not the case. Maintaining ALSA support in an application is one of the most infuriating tasks, ever. It's unfortunate that people still want to use these outdated systems and want people to support them. One of the most crucial components of a system is sound, and I thoroughly do not enjoy messing with it. When I plug it in I want it to work and PulseAudio does that, which is what most end-users want and what every other operating system wants. You've had problems with PulseAudio in the past? So have I. Times chance, distros get better at packaging.

    The ideal solution would be to have someone who is willing to punish themselves long enough (which there seems to be plenty of in this scene) write a pulseaudio wrapper for the people who don't want to run PulseAudio.

    Quote Originally Posted by rabcor View Post
    Dropped alsa support? what in the flying fuck?

    Fuck pulse, it fucking sucks! There is literally no good reason to use it unless you need it for some of it's specialized features (like streaming audio between systems/over the net. or you really really really really desperately want to be able to control per application volume settings via the mixer (a feature that fucks up volume mixing for everyone who doesn't...)) pulse is just fucking bad. Why on earth is it being used by default on all the fattest distros?
    Leave. You are part of the problem in this community. You are so selfish you can't even accept that some people don't want to stick a hot iron on their skin (punish themselves) to configure their sound system. You know what PulseAudio does that everything else doesn't? Mix well and work. That's what it's supposed to do, that's what it does. If you're so appalled by wanting something that just works, please, go to something other than this scene. Perhaps the masochist forums?
    Last edited by jimbohale; 06-18-2014 at 03:37 PM.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Wow, this hate.

    I did had problems with Pulse Audio when it was first introduced into Ubuntu, but now, I don't have any problems with it, although I'm sure it's not perfect.
    But all this hate, why?

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    MA, USA
    Posts
    1,386

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by grenadecx View Post
    Wow, this hate.

    I did had problems with Pulse Audio when it was first introduced into Ubuntu, but now, I don't have any problems with it, although I'm sure it's not perfect.
    But all this hate, why?
    Actually it seems all the hate is toward ALSA. I don't blame people - if you want to do anything beyond stereo sound without SPDIF or something like phonon, ALSA is pretty much helpless due to how difficult it is to configure. All that being said, I don't think PA is bad, but if you don't HAVE to configure your channels, you're better off not using it in most cases. I very rarely have had a use for PA and I'd rather not install it because only 1 program demands it. I have roughly 20 games that work on linux and none of them require PA. I have another dozen or so programs that have audio and don't require PA. I find it annoying that skype does.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Vilnius, Lithuania
    Posts
    2,601

    Default

    So still a no-nonsense classic UI without adverts? Good, so it's safe to update, then.

    Though the "cloud group chat" is a terrible idea. I don't want my chats to be in the cloud, and I only use one device. There should be an option to turn it off. Then again, even if there was one, there's no guarantee that it would be respected by the program, so I guess there's not much difference :\

    So anyway, what's the best/easiest way to sandbox Skype (at the moment)?

  10. #30

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GreatEmerald View Post
    So anyway, what's the best/easiest way to sandbox Skype (at the moment)?
    Run it under a separate user (it's in Russian but the instructions are easy to follow).

    usermod is only required if you have problems with audio/video capture - so, adjust for your system (you might want to add the skype user to the `video` or `v4l` groups).
    Last edited by birdie; 06-18-2014 at 04:18 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •