Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Firefox Runs On 64-bit ARM (AArch64)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,593

    Default Firefox Runs On 64-bit ARM (AArch64)

    Phoronix: Firefox Runs On 64-bit ARM (AArch64)

    While it will still be a while before consumers are able to see 64-bit ARM hardware on their desk, Mozilla's Firefox web-browser on AArch64 (64-bit ARM) is working...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTcxODU

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1,119

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by phoronix View Post
    it will still be a while before consumers are able to see 64-bit ARM hardware on their desk
    I did it!
    I just put my iPad Air on my desk.

  3. #3

    Default

    Good stuff. I wish ARM called it "ARM64" instead of "AArch64", though. I know they must've thought it would be confused with AMD64, but I doubt it because nobody really uses AMD64, and it would've still been a better compromise than using AArch64. Oh well. Nobody ever accused chip companies of being good with names.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,643

    Default

    If they manage to give us fanless laptops with HiDPI screens nice design and good performance bring it. Some proprietary apps are required though. We already know that there won't be any trouble running the FOSS ones.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    650

    Default

    And still no 64bit Version for Windows ...

    Note: The unofficial Build are no full features Builds. Many features are disabled on x64.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    738

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nille View Post
    And still no 64bit Version for Windows ...

    Note: The unofficial Build are no full features Builds. Many features are disabled on x64.
    Well even Chrome on Windows used to be 32 Bit only untill recently (like a week ago). They said that they had a lot of problems with 64-Bit on Windows.

    http://blog.chromium.org/2014/06/try...anary-and.html

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    650

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by blackout23 View Post
    Well even Chrome on Windows used to be 32 Bit only untill recently (like a week ago). They said that they had a lot of problems with 64-Bit on Windows.

    http://blog.chromium.org/2014/06/try...anary-and.html
    Where do they say that they have a lot of problems with 64bit? On your link its the opposite. More Speed, Better Security and less Crashes.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    97

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nille View Post
    Where do they say that they have a lot of problems with 64bit? On your link its the opposite. More Speed, Better Security and less Crashes.
    I assume he means the process of getting everything working on Win64, not necessarily that there's no benefits to it.

    I've been using Nightly (nightly builds of Firefox's latest code) Win64 builds for years now. For all those people who are going to say "nightly builds are unstable", I've never had any issues with them. I really don't understand why it took Chromium so long.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    459

    Default

    Firefox is really betting behind!

    No 64 bit support for x86_64 while all other browsers have.
    Mozilla needs to spend some time on improving the technical inards of Firefox, under the hood features!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    97

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by plonoma View Post
    Firefox is really betting behind!

    No 64 bit support for x86_64 while all other browsers have.
    Mozilla needs to spend some time on improving the technical inards of Firefox, under the hood features!
    They've had support for it for years now, read my post above. I don't think Chrome has this for stable builds yet either by the way.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •