Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Linux 3.15 Kernel Released

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15,098

    Default Linux 3.15 Kernel Released

    Phoronix: Linux 3.15 Kernel Released

    The Linux 3.15 kernel has now been released...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTcxNDM

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,065

    Default

    Cheers

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    36

    Default

    Shame about the UVD regression though.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    142

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by deadite66 View Post
    Shame about the UVD regression though.
    Come on. In the long term, that reduced clocks get us "cooler" hardware and less power consumption. And when they take postprocessing into account and keep the gpu clocks up, all is fine. Check the great other stuff that was implemented for AMD in that version (vblank optimizations, suspend / resume fixes and a lot more).

    And btw: You did not report that issue during all RCs - so don't complain on release day.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Also Linus has now officially send his message on 3.15:

    https://lkml.org/lkml/2014/6/8/70

    So I ended up doing an rc8 because I was a bit worried about some
    last-minute dcache fixes, but it turns out that nobody seemed to even
    notice those. We did have other issues during the week, though, so it
    was just as well. The futex fixes and cleanups may stand out, but as
    usual there's various other random fixes since rc8 in there too:
    mainly drivers (drm, networking, sound, usb etc), networking,
    scheduling and perf tooling.

    But it's all been fairly small and quiet, which *may* of course be due
    to the fact that last week was also the first week of the merge window
    for 3.16. That might have distracted some developers. I'm not entirely
    convinced I liked the overlap, but it seemed to work ok, and unless
    people scream really loudly ("Please don't _ever_ do that again") and
    give good reasons for doing so, I might end up doing that overlapping
    merge window in the future too if it ends up helping out with some
    particular timing issue.

    That said, I also don't think it was such a wonderful experience that
    I'd want to necessarily do the overlap every time, without a good
    specific reason for doing so. It was kind of nice being productive
    during the last week or rc (which is usually quite boring and dead),
    but I think it might be a distraction when people should be worrying
    about the stability of the rc.

    Of course, maybe the overlap ends up meaning that we get less noise
    during the last week of stabilization, and it actually helps. It could
    go either way. I'd be interested to hear what people thought, although
    I _suspect_ most people don't feel strongly either way.

    Anyway, with 3.15 released, my "master" branch has already merged the
    work in my "next" branch on my local machine, and I'll be
    decommissioning the "next" branch once I push that all out. After
    that, any future merge window work will happen on "master", and we'll
    be back to the normal single-branch model for my tree.

    Linus

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,065

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by deadite66 View Post
    Shame about the UVD regression though.
    What UVD regression? I know radeon is popular, but kernel is not all about radeon driver .

    Beyond rc8 have couple fixes for radeon too, so just compiled it... have Athlon 5350 here, works fine .

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    142

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dungeon View Post
    What UVD regression? I know radeon is popular, but kernel is not all about radeon driver .

    Beyond rc8 have couple fixes for radeon too, so just compiled it... have Athlon 5350 here, works fine .
    The new dynamic UVD clocks, clock a bit too low (especially also the GPU), so that E-series can't do decoding and postprocessing with the temporal deinterlacer (mesa 10.2) at once.
    See here: http://lists.freedesktop.org/archive...ry/054361.html

    You might realize it, when you decode 1080p60 or 1080p50 content and when doing postprocessing, but that's all, just a minor already identified regression, which can be fixed easily.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    36

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fritsch View Post
    And btw: You did not report that issue during all RCs - so don't complain on release day.
    No one else did either, so i'm in good company

    thanks for the patch.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,065

    Default

    What Alex says:

    If that becomes an issue, we can add a sysfs attribute to force the max UVD state.
    So is there option to force max? I guess deadite66 will be satisfied with that .

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    36

    Default

    i tried changing /sys/class/drm/card0/device/power_dpm_force_performance_level but it won't budge off auto, so nothing in place.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •