Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 26 of 26

Thread: Mesa Shader Compiler Cache Proposed, Reduces Game Start Times

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    380

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by whitecat View Post
    You can try the l4d2_testing branch, it fix the Steam crash.
    http://cgit.freedesktop.org/~tpalli/...h=l4d2_testing
    Maybe I'll try that later but my guess is that it might still not work. I think gallium and/or the r600g driver need some changes. Anyway with testing this I might be able to give Tapani Pälli a gdb backtrace which I think he still needs (I can't find any reply from Benjamin after that mail: http://lists.freedesktop.org/archive...ne/060663.html ), so I might really do it when I find the time for.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    380

    Default

    Damn edit limit... Anyway: I tried the l4d2_testing branch and at least there don't seem to be any crashes. But there are rendering errors all over the place. It looks like these rendering issues begin as soon as the driver uses the cached shaders instead of compiling. Why does it look like that? Well, when I start some 3D application it works fine for the first time and starts with the issues after I restart said application (or after running it for some time). Well, at least it gives a free ad block:

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    France
    Posts
    213

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TAXI View Post
    (I can't find any reply from Benjamin after that mail: http://lists.freedesktop.org/archive...ne/060663.html ), so I might really do it when I find the time for.
    In fact it's me
    I already sent a backtrace to Tapani, offlist.

    And yes, the first launch works, but not the next launch (when the cache is used).

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    380

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by whitecat View Post
    In fact it's me
    I already sent a backtrace to Tapani, offlist.

    And yes, the first launch works, but not the next launch (when the cache is used).
    Haha, the net is small.
    Well, I also wrote a mail to Tapani (offlist, to his intel.com address), asking if there's anything I could do to help debugging this. So hopefully it will get fixed soon.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    13

    Default

    of my development environment intact.



  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Any use for this outside of games?



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •