Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31

Thread: Wayland LiveCD Updated Against v1.5, Uses Systemd On Ubuntu

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15,645

    Default Wayland LiveCD Updated Against v1.5, Uses Systemd On Ubuntu

    Phoronix: Wayland LiveCD Updated Against v1.5, Uses Systemd On Ubuntu

    For those looking for an easy way to play with Wayland/Weston 1.5 along with various Wayland-enabled open-source desktop applications, RebeccaBlackOS has been updated...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTcwMzQ

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,766

    Default

    @nerdopolis

    For e you used standard git or the devilhorns WL branch (which i think will be merged at some point)?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Can someone make a video on how it looks/works ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    946

    Default

    @nerdopolis
    I used the iso from 05.26 (a few days ago) and it fails to boot with nouveau (GTX 560 Ti) drivers, is this issue fixed in the latest iso?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    708

    Default

    Would be funny if it ends up as a major distro

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    178

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 89c51 View Post
    @nerdopolis

    For e you used standard git or the devilhorns WL branch (which i think will be merged at some point)?
    I used git master... ...I checked on that branch, it still looked like the screen size was hardcoded in the file...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    178

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mark45 View Post
    @nerdopolis
    I used the iso from 05.26 (a few days ago) and it fails to boot with nouveau (GTX 560 Ti) drivers, is this issue fixed in the latest iso?
    This ISO is 5.26, but I didn't send the release notification until today.
    Unfortunantly I only really get to test on Intel.
    Are you able to switch to a tty, log with the live session user name 'beccaholic' and no password, and show the contents of /var/log/loginmanagerdisplay.log ?
    Thanks and sorry.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    946

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nerdopolis View Post
    Are you able to switch to a tty, log with the live session user name 'beccaholic' and no password, and show the contents of /var/log/loginmanagerdisplay.log?
    I didn't know how to save the file somewhere, so can't show it, it said something about failure about (keyboard) backlight.

    Anyway, I rebooted but this time chose in the grub menu 1280x1024 and it worked! and I'm appending the log of this latter successful boot in case it matters.
    Code:
    Date: 2014-05-29 UTC
    [12:07:39.044] weston 1.5.90
                   http://wayland.freedesktop.org/
                   Bug reports to: https://bugs.freedesktop.org/enter_bug.cgi?product=Wayland&component=weston&version=1.5.90
                   Build: 1.4.93-20-g73dfbd5-dirty Add releasing.txt to describe the release steps and other bits of process (2014-05-23 10:13:59 -0700)
    [12:07:39.044] OS: Linux, 3.13.0-24-generic, #47-Ubuntu SMP Fri May 2 23:31:42 UTC 2014, i686
    [12:07:39.050] Using config file '/etc/loginmanagerdisplay//.config/weston.ini'
    [12:07:39.112] Loading module '/opt/lib/i386-linux-gnu/weston/fbdev-backend.so'
    [12:07:39.164] initializing fbdev backend
    [12:07:39.167] Creating fbdev output.
    [12:07:39.167] Opening fbdev frame buffer.
    [12:07:39.167] Calculating pixman format from:
                    - type: 0 (aux: 0)
                    - visual: 2
                    - bpp: 32 (grayscale: 0)
                    - red: offset: 16, length: 8, MSB: 0
                    - green: offset: 8, length: 8, MSB: 0
                    - blue: offset: 0, length: 8, MSB: 0
                    - transp: offset: 0, length: 0, MSB: 0
    [12:07:39.167] Mapping fbdev frame buffer.
    [12:07:39.167] fbdev output 19201080 px
                   guessing 60 Hz and 96 dpi
    [12:07:39.169] launching '/opt/libexec/weston-keyboard'
    [12:07:39.282] Loading module '/opt/lib/i386-linux-gnu/weston/desktop-shell.so'
    [12:07:39.282] Module '/opt/lib/i386-linux-gnu/weston/desktop-shell.so' already loaded
    [12:07:39.282] Module '/opt/lib/i386-linux-gnu/weston/desktop-shell.so' already loaded
    [12:07:39.282] Compositor capabilities:
                   arbitrary surface rotation: yes
                   screen capture uses y-flip: yes
    [12:07:39.293] launching '/opt/libexec/weston-desktop-shell'
    [12:07:53.159] leaving VT
    [12:07:53.240] Disabling fbdev output.
    [12:07:53.240] Destroying fbdev frame buffer.
    [12:07:54.513] leaving VT
    [12:07:54.513] Disabling fbdev output.
    [12:07:54.513] Destroying fbdev frame buffer.
    I guess you should buy a cheap/used nvidia card (or some of your friends might have an unused one) since this isn't the first release of RBOS where nouveau has problems booting.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    178

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mark45 View Post
    I didn't know how to save the file somewhere, so can't show it, it said something about failure about (keyboard) backlight.

    Anyway, I rebooted but this time chose in the grub menu 1280x1024 and it worked! and I'm appending the log of this latter successful boot in case it matters.
    Code:
    Date: 2014-05-29 UTC
    [12:07:39.044] weston 1.5.90
                   http://wayland.freedesktop.org/
                   Bug reports to: https://bugs.freedesktop.org/enter_bug.cgi?product=Wayland&component=weston&version=1.5.90
                   Build: 1.4.93-20-g73dfbd5-dirty Add releasing.txt to describe the release steps and other bits of process (2014-05-23 10:13:59 -0700)
    [12:07:39.044] OS: Linux, 3.13.0-24-generic, #47-Ubuntu SMP Fri May 2 23:31:42 UTC 2014, i686
    [12:07:39.050] Using config file '/etc/loginmanagerdisplay//.config/weston.ini'
    [12:07:39.112] Loading module '/opt/lib/i386-linux-gnu/weston/fbdev-backend.so'
    [12:07:39.164] initializing fbdev backend
    [12:07:39.167] Creating fbdev output.
    [12:07:39.167] Opening fbdev frame buffer.
    [12:07:39.167] Calculating pixman format from:
                    - type: 0 (aux: 0)
                    - visual: 2
                    - bpp: 32 (grayscale: 0)
                    - red: offset: 16, length: 8, MSB: 0
                    - green: offset: 8, length: 8, MSB: 0
                    - blue: offset: 0, length: 8, MSB: 0
                    - transp: offset: 0, length: 0, MSB: 0
    [12:07:39.167] Mapping fbdev frame buffer.
    [12:07:39.167] fbdev output 19201080 px
                   guessing 60 Hz and 96 dpi
    [12:07:39.169] launching '/opt/libexec/weston-keyboard'
    [12:07:39.282] Loading module '/opt/lib/i386-linux-gnu/weston/desktop-shell.so'
    [12:07:39.282] Module '/opt/lib/i386-linux-gnu/weston/desktop-shell.so' already loaded
    [12:07:39.282] Module '/opt/lib/i386-linux-gnu/weston/desktop-shell.so' already loaded
    [12:07:39.282] Compositor capabilities:
                   arbitrary surface rotation: yes
                   screen capture uses y-flip: yes
    [12:07:39.293] launching '/opt/libexec/weston-desktop-shell'
    [12:07:53.159] leaving VT
    [12:07:53.240] Disabling fbdev output.
    [12:07:53.240] Destroying fbdev frame buffer.
    [12:07:54.513] leaving VT
    [12:07:54.513] Disabling fbdev output.
    [12:07:54.513] Destroying fbdev frame buffer.
    I guess you should buy a cheap/used nvidia card (or some of your friends might have an unused one) since this isn't the first release of RBOS where nouveau has problems booting.

    Unfortunately this is a laptop... However I think this is a modesetting issue, and not a mesa issue because the loginmanagerdisplay weston instance is now started by the waylandloginmanager with the pixman renderer...


    Do you have a /dev/dri/card* ?
    what happens when you try sudo modprobe nouveau ?

    Thanks.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    946

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nerdopolis View Post
    However I think this is a modesetting issue, and not a mesa issue
    Yeah, I'm not an expert so I might call "drivers" anything in the whole Linux graphics stack.

    Quote Originally Posted by nerdopolis View Post
    Do you have a /dev/dri/card* ?
    Yes, there are 2 files, "card0" and "controlD64".

    Quote Originally Posted by nerdopolis View Post
    what happens when you try sudo modprobe nouveau ?
    I do "sudo modprobe nouveau", hit enter and I instantly get back to the command line, no message, apparently nothing happens.
    What's the root password, maybe I should do it as su rather than sudo?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •