Page 3 of 12 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 120

Thread: black border

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by grigi View Post
    In the Catalyst Control Centre there is an option under Display Manager->Digital Monitor, called image scaling. Try seleting the "Scale image to full panel size" option?
    I'd like to echo what grigi said. I have Fedora 9 with fglrx. Video card is HD2400 (using HDMI output currently). I have the same black border everyone is seeing. The screen is an LCD TV.

    Here's the interesting part. By default, ATI Catalyst in WinXP also shows the black border. Using Catalyst Control Center, there is an option for scaling. I have to set it to 0% (Underscan?) to get the display to occupy the entire screen. Is there any hidden option for fglrx to do this?

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I have a ghetto fix for the black boards that works on my set up. I am running dual dvi->hdmi at 1920x1200, so change the numbers for your resolution.

    Code:
    #/bin/sh
    aticonfig --set-dispattrib=tmds1,positionX:0
    aticonfig --set-dispattrib=tmds1,positionY:0
    aticonfig --set-dispattrib=tmds1,sizeX:1920
    aticonfig --set-dispattrib=tmds1,sizeY:1200
    aticonfig --set-dispattrib=tmds2i,positionX:0
    aticonfig --set-dispattrib=tmds2i,positionY:0
    aticonfig --set-dispattrib=tmds2i,sizeX:1920
    aticonfig --set-dispattrib=tmds2i,sizeY:1200
    I was running this script from .xinitrc and it fixes the desktop. There are a few calls that i tracked down that were causing the black boarders to return. Running the script again will repair it. The only ones that I remember were when xrandr sets anything, and when mplayer calls 'xset -dpms'. I fixed mplayer by adding this to my .bashrc

    Code:
    alias mplayer='mplayer -nostop-xscreensaver'

    I switched over to radeonhd cvs and deleted all my fglrx files. These binary drivers are pretty worthless.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,441

    Default

    Are you running aticonfig commands with the radeonhd driver ?

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by trentgbs View Post
    I have a ghetto fix for the black boards that works on my set up. I am running dual dvi->hdmi at 1920x1200, so change the numbers for your resolution.

    Code:
    #/bin/sh
    aticonfig --set-dispattrib=tmds1,positionX:0
    aticonfig --set-dispattrib=tmds1,positionY:0
    aticonfig --set-dispattrib=tmds1,sizeX:1920
    aticonfig --set-dispattrib=tmds1,sizeY:1200
    aticonfig --set-dispattrib=tmds2i,positionX:0
    aticonfig --set-dispattrib=tmds2i,positionY:0
    aticonfig --set-dispattrib=tmds2i,sizeX:1920
    aticonfig --set-dispattrib=tmds2i,sizeY:1200
    I switched over to radeonhd cvs and deleted all my fglrx files. These binary drivers are pretty worthless.
    Thanks trent. That does it for me. Turns out I only need the tmds1 settings. Can radeonhd handle dri for R6xx chipset yet?

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Are you running aticonfig commands with the radeonhd driver ?
    bridgman: Those aticonfig commands are for the fglrx binary drivers. They will not do anything with the radeonhd driver. You can do something similar with xrandr 1.2 when running radeonhd.

    Thanks trent. That does it for me. Turns out I only need the tmds1 settings. Can radeonhd handle dri for R6xx chipset yet?
    asun: I am running a 3850, there is no 3d or xvideo yet in radeonhd. I dont really care about 3d. If I really wanted it I would just dual boot. I want stability with uptimes of at least a week which fglrx can not even get close to. For normal desktop use running window maker along with mostly eclipse studio and firefox the current radeonhd cvs works great. In my opinion software video under radeonhd looks better then xvideo under fglrx anyways.


    For anyone not familiar with the commands in the script I posted here is a little explanation. The driver is defaulting to scale the configured resolution (in my case 1920x1200) to something lower. I believe this is the "option centermode" in xorg.conf. This results in the whole 1920x1200 display being smashed into the center 80% of the display.

    Relevant output from aticonfig --help:
    Display attribute options:
    Following options are used for query and set adjustment of
    specific attribute for specific display. These options will be
    effective immediately. Other options on the same command line
    will be ignored.
    The DISPLAYTYPE in options can be one of the following strings:
    crt1, lvds, tv, tmds1, crt2, tmds2, cv, tmds2i .
    The ATTRIBTYPE in options can be one of the following strings:
    brightness, contrast, saturation, hue, positionX,
    positionY, sizeX, sizeY, overscan, videoStandard
    --query-dispattrib=DISPLAYTYPE,ATTRIBTYPE
    query the specific adjustment info of the specific display.
    if ATTRIBTYPE is not specified, all supported attribute
    information will be printed out.
    --set-dispattrib=DISPLAYTYPE,ATTRIBTYPE:VALUE
    set the attribute value of the specific display.

    The first two commands:
    aticonfig --set-dispattrib=tmds1,positionX:0
    aticonfig --set-dispattrib=tmds1,positionY:0
    these move the scaled/centered image to the top left of the display. These should be the same for anybody experiencing this problem, except for the tmds1 part, change that to the output to which the effected display is attached to.

    The second two commands
    aticonfig --set-dispattrib=tmds1,sizeX:1920
    aticonfig --set-dispattrib=tmds1,sizeY:1200
    these stretch or unscale the image to the full resolution of the display. For these , change the tmds1 to your output, and the 1920 and 1200 to your desired resolution.

    The last four commands
    aticonfig --set-dispattrib=tmds2i,positionX:0
    aticonfig --set-dispattrib=tmds2i,positionY:0
    aticonfig --set-dispattrib=tmds2i,sizeX:1920
    aticonfig --set-dispattrib=tmds2i,sizeY:1200
    these do the same thing as the first four, but for the second digital output (tmds2i).


    I am unsure if these commands actually undo the scaling, or if the output is just scaled then unscaled. Regardless it only happens for me in 8.5. Hopefully it is a simple bug that will be fixed in the next version.
    Last edited by trentgbs; 06-16-2008 at 09:03 AM.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Hi

    Finaly solved the issue with help of aticonfig command. It looks like Samsung TV claims to support 1080p but the visible area is touch smaller - very strange ...

    Does anyone know if there is a linux software to analyse the EDID data ?

    Best,
    Toxic

  7. #27

    Unhappy

    I'm seeing this problem, a 3-4cm (1-1.5inch) border around the screen with 8.5 and 8.6, 8.4 works fine. Nothing else on the system has changed.

    I'm connected via HDMI to an LCD TV (Sony Bravia) at the native resolution, matching what is specified in the manual (1360x768@60Hz) for the HDMI inputs.

    Code:
    (II) fglrx(0): Connected Display1: DFP on secondary TMDS [tmds2i]
    (II) fglrx(0): Display1 EDID data ---------------------------
    (II) fglrx(0): Manufacturer: SNY  Model: 801  Serial#: 16843009
    (II) fglrx(0): Year: 2007  Week: 1
    (II) fglrx(0): EDID Version: 1.3
    (II) fglrx(0): Digital Display Input
    (II) fglrx(0): Max H-Image Size [cm]: horiz.: 160  vert.: 90
    (II) fglrx(0): Gamma: 2.20
    (II) fglrx(0): No DPMS capabilities specified; RGB/Color Display
    (II) fglrx(0): First detailed timing is preferred mode
    (II) fglrx(0): redX: 0.625 redY: 0.340   greenX: 0.280 greenY: 0.595
    (II) fglrx(0): blueX: 0.155 blueY: 0.070   whiteX: 0.283 whiteY: 0.298
    (II) fglrx(0): Supported VESA Video Modes:
    (II) fglrx(0): 640x480@60Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): 800x600@60Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): 1024x768@60Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): Manufacturer's mask: 0
    (II) fglrx(0): Supported additional Video Mode:
    (II) fglrx(0): clock: 85.5 MHz   Image Size:  1600 x 900 mm
    (II) fglrx(0): h_active: 1360  h_sync: 1424  h_sync_end 1536 h_blank_end 1792 h_border: 0
    (II) fglrx(0): v_active: 768  v_sync: 771  v_sync_end 777 v_blanking: 795 v_border: 0
    (II) fglrx(0): Supported additional Video Mode:
    (II) fglrx(0): clock: 74.2 MHz   Image Size:  1600 x 900 mm
    (II) fglrx(0): h_active: 1280  h_sync: 1390  h_sync_end 1430 h_blank_end 1650 h_border: 0
    (II) fglrx(0): v_active: 720  v_sync: 725  v_sync_end 730 v_blanking: 750 v_border: 0
    (II) fglrx(0): Monitor name: SONY TV
    (II) fglrx(0): Ranges: V min: 48  V max: 62 Hz, H min: 14  H max: 48 kHz, PixClock max 90 MHz
    (II) fglrx(0): Number of EDID sections to follow: 1
    (II) fglrx(0): EDID (in hex):
    (II) fglrx(0):  00ffffffffffff004dd9010801010101
    (II) fglrx(0):  0111010380a05a780a0dc9a057479827
    (II) fglrx(0):  12484c21080001010101010101010101
    (II) fglrx(0):  010101010101662150b051001b304070
    (II) fglrx(0):  360040846300001e011d007251d01e20
    (II) fglrx(0):  6e285500408463000018000000fc0053
    (II) fglrx(0):  4f4e592054560a2020202020000000fd
    (II) fglrx(0):  00303e0e3009000a2020202020200172
    (II) fglrx(0): End of Display1 EDID data --------------------
    (WW) fglrx(0): Only one display is connnected,so single mode is enabled
    (II) fglrx(0): Primary Controller - DFP on secondary TMDS
    (II) fglrx(0): Internal Desktop Setting: 0x00000001
    (II) fglrx(0): POWERplay not supported on this hardware
    (==) fglrx(0): Qbs is not supported in this release. Disabled.
    (==) fglrx(0): FAST_SWAP disabled
    (==) fglrx(0):  PseudoColor visuals disabled
    (**) fglrx(0): Center Mode is enabled
    (==) fglrx(0): TMDS coherent mode is enabled
    (II) fglrx(0): Total of 6 modes found for primary display.
    (--) fglrx(0): Virtual size is 1360x768 (pitch 0)
    (**) fglrx(0): *Mode "1360x768": 85.5 MHz (scaled from 0.0 MHz), 47.7 kHz, 60.0 Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): Modeline "1360x768"x60.0   85.50  1360 1424 1536 1792  768 771 777 795 (47.7 kHz)
    (**) fglrx(0):  Default mode "1280x768": 79.5 MHz (scaled from 0.0 MHz), 47.8 kHz, 60.0 Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): Modeline "1280x768"x60.0   79.50  1280 1344 1472 1664  768 771 778 798 +hsync (47.8 kHz)
    (**) fglrx(0):  Default mode "1280x720": 74.2 MHz (scaled from 0.0 MHz), 45.0 kHz, 60.0 Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): Modeline "1280x720"x60.0   74.25  1280 1390 1430 1650  720 725 730 750 +hsync +vsync (45.0 kHz)
    (**) fglrx(0):  Default mode "1152x648": 59.9 MHz (scaled from 0.0 MHz), 40.3 kHz, 60.0 Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): Modeline "1152x648"x60.0   59.90  1152 1200 1320 1488  648 649 652 671 +hsync (40.3 kHz)
    (**) fglrx(0):  Default mode "1024x768": 65.0 MHz (scaled from 0.0 MHz), 48.4 kHz, 60.0 Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): Modeline "1024x768"x60.0   65.00  1024 1048 1184 1344  768 771 777 806 +hsync +vsync (48.4 kHz)
    (**) fglrx(0):  Default mode "400x300": 22.3 MHz (scaled from 0.0 MHz), 45.0 kHz, 60.0 Hz (D)
    (II) fglrx(0): Modeline "400x300"x60.0   22.33  400 416 480 496  300 601 605 742 doublescan (45.0 kHz)
    (--) fglrx(0): Display dimensions: (1600, 900) mm
    (--) fglrx(0): DPI set to (21, 21)
    (--) fglrx(0): Virtual size is 1360x768 (pitch 1408)
    (**) fglrx(0): *Mode "1360x768": 85.5 MHz (scaled from 0.0 MHz), 47.7 kHz, 60.0 Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): Modeline "1360x768"x60.0   85.50  1360 1424 1536 1792  768 771 777 795 (47.7 kHz)
    (**) fglrx(0):  Default mode "1280x768": 79.5 MHz (scaled from 0.0 MHz), 47.8 kHz, 60.0 Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): Modeline "1280x768"x60.0   79.50  1280 1344 1472 1664  768 771 778 798 +hsync (47.8 kHz)
    (**) fglrx(0):  Default mode "1280x720": 74.2 MHz (scaled from 0.0 MHz), 45.0 kHz, 60.0 Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): Modeline "1280x720"x60.0   74.25  1280 1390 1430 1650  720 725 730 750 +hsync +vsync (45.0 kHz)
    (**) fglrx(0):  Default mode "1152x648": 59.9 MHz (scaled from 0.0 MHz), 40.3 kHz, 60.0 Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): Modeline "1152x648"x60.0   59.90  1152 1200 1320 1488  648 649 652 671 +hsync (40.3 kHz)
    (**) fglrx(0):  Default mode "1024x768": 65.0 MHz (scaled from 0.0 MHz), 48.4 kHz, 60.0 Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): Modeline "1024x768"x60.0   65.00  1024 1048 1184 1344  768 771 777 806 +hsync +vsync (48.4 kHz)
    (**) fglrx(0):  Default mode "400x300": 22.3 MHz (scaled from 0.0 MHz), 45.0 kHz, 60.0 Hz (D)
    (II) fglrx(0): Modeline "400x300"x60.0   22.33  400 416 480 496  300 601 605 742 doublescan (45.0 kHz)
    Any thoughts?

    EDIT: Updated log.
    Last edited by gbee; 06-20-2008 at 04:56 PM.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default finally!

    Code:
    #/bin/sh
    aticonfig --set-dispattrib=tmds1,positionX:0
    aticonfig --set-dispattrib=tmds1,positionY:0
    aticonfig --set-dispattrib=tmds1,sizeX:1920
    aticonfig --set-dispattrib=tmds1,sizeY:1200
    aticonfig --set-dispattrib=tmds2i,positionX:0
    aticonfig --set-dispattrib=tmds2i,positionY:0
    aticonfig --set-dispattrib=tmds2i,sizeX:1920
    aticonfig --set-dispattrib=tmds2i,sizeY:1200
    It finally worked! These commands did take out the black border! Just to add in my 2cents worth. In fact you got error like this

    Code:
    Try to Set positionX adjust of monitor tmds1 value : 0 failed.
     It may not supported by monitor or the value beyond the range.
    It's due to the fact that your monitor is attached to the 2nd output even though if you have only one monitor! After nearly 2 months of "agony", finally I get my money worth on my monitor! I simply love my 28" LCD.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    87

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bishamon View Post
    It finally worked! These commands did take out the black border! Just to add in my 2cents worth. In fact you got error like this

    Code:
    Try to Set positionX adjust of monitor tmds1 value : 0 failed.
     It may not supported by monitor or the value beyond the range.
    It's due to the fact that your monitor is attached to the 2nd output even though if you have only one monitor! After nearly 2 months of "agony", finally I get my money worth on my monitor! I simply love my 28" LCD.
    hello, I ran into this blackborder problem since I upgraded to 8.6 since I bought a hd4850 to replace a 6600GT

    however the the commands above doesn't work for me

    :/etc/X11# aticonfig --set-dispattrib=tmds1,positionX:0
    Try to Set positionX adjust of monitor tmds1 value : 0 failed.
    It may not supported by monitor or the value beyond the range.
    :/etc/X11# aticonfig --set-dispattrib=tmds2,positionX:0
    Try to Set positionX adjust of monitor tmds2 value : 0 failed.
    It may not supported by monitor or the value beyond the range.
    I have a Sony W4000 Fullhd TV, the resolution is 1920x1080, it works fine with nvidia 6600GT, and also with radeon 9600pro

    and it works fine on windows xp ...

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,615

    Default

    There must be a boarder of 6 pixels (or 3 left and 3 right) because the gfx driver needs a res which can be divided by 8 -> 1366 native -> 1360 for driver. Impossible to fix that.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •