Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OpenSSL Forked By OpenBSD Into LibreSSL

Phoronix: OpenSSL Forked By OpenBSD Into LibreSSL

Following the fallout from the OpenSSL Heartbleed bug, OpenBSD developers have decided to fork the OpenSSL code-base to create LibreSSL...

Phoronix, Linux Hardware Reviews, Linux hardware benchmarks, Linux server benchmarks, Linux benchmarking, Desktop Linux, Linux performance, Open Source graphics, Linux How To, Ubuntu benchmarks, Ubuntu hardware, Phoronix Test Suite

Why CVS!?

Comment

They removed Windows support.
      In the wake of Heartbleed, a well-known open source development group is creating a simpler, cleaner version of the dominant OpenSSL.

Comment

Cowards !

Really !?!? cowards !!! instead of helping the project they fork it so they wont be harmed ?? the nerve ...

Comment

This seems rather like an overreaction, and somewhat of a vote of no confidence in the governance of OpenSSL which is a worrying precedent. I'm no expert, but from what I've read of the issue, it was a rather trivial mistake. I understand the far-reaching consequences of it, but it seems like it could have happened to anybody.

Having said that, it'd be nice if they could clean up the code. Also, it seems like the type of thing that the BSD camp would be good stewards for, being the security stalwarts that they are.

But I can't help but feel the better course of action would be to work with whomever currently controls OpenSSL to improve checks and balances rather than just fork it. It feels decidedly NIH-esque. It's not like OpenSSL is governed by Sun Microsystems.

Comment

1) They use CVS because they like it. I don't know why, but I doubt it really matters.