Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• USB live distro with PTS

Hello,

I've decided to try and use your benchmark suite in order to benchmark some dell 1750/1850/1950 against Vmware ESX on ibm x3655 and Dell R900. However I don't want to install a distro everytime I do a test in order to get results. For vmware ESX tests, it's easy all I'll have to do is install ubuntu/rhel or something once, and migrate the machine and benchmark again.

However for the physical boxes, Ideally I want a ubuntu live cd with PTS on it. What's the easiest way to go about doing this? Also I'd have to use the local disk for the benchmarks and not the USB stick....

ok I found a way of doing this with remastersys and syslinux. If anyone is interested give me a pm. I might make a release, I'm uing Mint Linux as the host platform but there is really little reason for that except that remastersys is supposed to work well with that distro and i've never used it before.

Comment

Maybe you think too complicated. In order to use usb as install media you can do a straigt forward install with your favorite distro - when the installer does not support hd re-ordering (Kanotix does that for example) then just remove internal drives. After usb install you just have to use always the same kind of gfx cards - like always new nvidia or always new ati. Otherwise you would need some kind of autodetection here - I have done that for my test live iso for PTS (could be startet with grub too from usb).

Comment

you don't quite understand, this is to benchmark rack servers in a server room, so i don't care about the graphics drivers (i think most the dell servers ship with ATI Rage XL gfx cards with 8mb ram)

Also the servers are mostly going to have RHEL3 installed on there, so installing pts on there is going to be a pain hence why i need to reinstall something newer. (with php5 i dont want to go into unsuported repo's on rhel3)