Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• XDG-Shell Patches Get Moving For Wayland

Phoronix: XDG-Shell Patches Get Moving For Wayland

After a lot of mailing list discussions amongst developers that have a stake in Wayland and early patches sent out, the latest xdg-shell patches were formally distributed today on the developers' mailing list. The xdg-shell is a new protocol living outside of the core Wayland protocol...

Phoronix, Linux Hardware Reviews, Linux hardware benchmarks, Linux server benchmarks, Linux benchmarking, Desktop Linux, Linux performance, Open Source graphics, Linux How To, Ubuntu benchmarks, Ubuntu hardware, Phoronix Test Suite

May i ask why a protocol for something as important as a desktop was not one of the priorities (if that is the case) and there is a need for replacing the existing protocol??

Comment

Don't forget Enlightenment!

I'm an Enlightenment developer, so you can say that the protocol has support and input from Enlightenment developers too!

Comment

Originally posted by antognolli View Post
        I'm an Enlightenment developer, so you can say that the protocol has support and input from Enlightenment developers too!
        You are right, especially because, I guess, the Qt 5 porting efforts leave the KDE devs without too much time to help in xdg-shell development, isn't it? I seen just Martin to appear in the wayland's mailing list to discuss the CSD/SSD part. Correct me if I forgot something.

Comment

Originally posted by 89c51 View Post
          May i ask why a protocol for something as important as a desktop was not one of the priorities (if that is the case) and there is a need for replacing the existing protocol??